Mobile Navigation Menu Icon. 3 horizontal gold bars.

Department of History

Varner Hall, Room 416
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-3510
fax: (248) 370-3528

Department of History

Varner Hall, Room 416
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-3510
fax: (248) 370-3528

Faculty and Staff

The History faculty's widespread research endeavors meet all levels of student interest. With areas of focus reaching across the world, the global impact of the department is unmatched. We encourage you to reach out to our faculty and staff for further departmental involvement or one-on-one conversations.

Faculty
Photo Not Available
Getnet Bekele
Associate Professor Modern Africa, Environment and Development, Identity, Conflict Studies
406 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3517
bekele@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Sara Chapman Williams
Associate Professor
Early Modern France and Europe, Early French Colonial History
412 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3526
chapman@oakland.edu
Dan Clark photo
Daniel Clark
Professor
American Labor History, 20th-Century U.S. Social History
407 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3532
djclark@oakland.edu
Erin Dwyer standing outdoors with a lake and mountains behind her
Erin Dwyer
Assistant Professor
19th-Century U.S., African-American History, Civil War and Reconstruction, Gender and Sexuality, Public History
409 Varner Hall 
(248) 370-3519
dwyer@oakland.edu
Photo of De Witt Dykes
De Witt S. Dykes Jr.
Associate Professor
African-American History, U.S. Urban History, Gender and Family History
414 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3522
dykes@oakland.edu
Photo of Todd Estes
Todd Estes
Professor 
American Revolution, Early National Period, Jacksonian America
402 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3534
estes@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Ian Greenspan
Special Lecturer
Early Modern and Modern Europe, Religious and Ethnic Conflict, Antisemitism, Propaganda
455 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3518
greenspa@oakland.edu
headshot of Derek Hastings
Derek Hastings
Associate Professor
Modern Europe, Germany, Nationalism, Religion and Society
405 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3535
hastings@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Robert Holland
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Modern Europe
455 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3518
holland@oakland.edu
Photo of Yan Li
Yan Li
Associate Professor
Modern China, Sino-Soviet Relations, East Asia
410B Varner Hall
(248) 370-3536
yli23458@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
William Londo
Special Lecturer
East Asia, Japan, Religion and Society
453 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3516
londo@oakland.edu
Photo of Don Matthews
Weldon C. Matthews
Associate Professor
Modern Middle East, Nationalism
404 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3525
matthews@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Mary Jo Miles
Special Lecturer
U.S. History
455 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3518
miles@oakland.edu
Photo of Karen Miller
Karen Miller
Associate Professor
U.S. Public Policy, Diplomatic and Economic History
413 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3512
kjmiller@oakland.edu
Photo of George Milne
George Milne
Associate Professor
Early American History, Native American History
415 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3530
milne@oakland.edu
headshot of Sean Farrell Moran
Seán Farrell Moran
Associate Professor
Modern Britain, Ireland, History of Ideas, 20th-Century Europe
408 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3533
moran@oakland.edu
Photo of James Naus
James Naus
Associate Professor and Chair
Medieval Europe
402 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3531
naus@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Jeffrey Powell
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Early America, Modern Europe
468 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3521
powell2@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Dale Prentiss
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Economic and Social History
468 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3521
prentiss@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Cara Shelly
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Michigan History
453 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3516
shelly@oakland.edu
Photo of Liz Shesko
Elizabeth Shesko
Associate Professor
Latin American History, Race and Ethnicity
403 Varner Hall 
(248) 370-3529 
shesko@oakland.edu
professional headshot of Andrea Wenz
Andrea Wenz
Assistant Professor
410A Varner Hall
(248) 379-3527
andreawenz@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Bruce Zellers
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Military History, Korean War
453 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3516
zellers@oakland.edu
Professors Emeriti

Linda Benson
Professor Emerita

Carl Osthaus
Professor Emeritus

James D. Graham
Professor Emeritus

S. Bernard Thomas
Professor Emeritus 

Mary Karasch
Professor Emerita

Richard Tucker
Professor Emeritus 

Roy Kotynek
Professor Emeritus

Staff
Janet Chandler
Administrative Secretary
416A Varner Hall
Phone: (248) 370-3510
Fax: (248) 370-3528
chandler@oakland.edu

Johanna McReynolds
Secretary 
416 Varner Hall
Phone: (248) 370-3511
Fax: (248) 370-3528
jkessler@oakland.edu

Mikayla Benton
Graduate Assistant
410A Varner Hall
Phone: (248) 370-3527
Fax: (248) 370-3528
mmbenton@oakland.edu
In Memoriam
Charles W. Akers
Professor Emeritus

Leonardas Gerulaitis
Professor Emeritus

V. John Barnard
Professor Emeritus

W. Patrick Strauss
Professor Emeritus  

Jace Crouch
Special Lecturer

Anne Tripp
Professor Emerita 

Ronald C. Finucane
Distinguished Professor