Department of Music, Theatre
and Dance
Varner Hall, Room 207
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(map)
Academic Office: (248) 370-2030
Box Office: (248) 370-3013
Fax: (248) 370-2041
mtd@oakland.edu

Faculty and Staff

Administration
Academic LeadersTitle Contact
Jackie Wiggins, Ed.D.Department Chair
Distinguished Professor of Music
jwiggins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2036
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Music Program Director
Associate Professor of Music 
vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022
Kerro Knox 3, M.F.A.Theatre Program Director 
Associate Professor of Theatre
knox@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3025
Gregory Patterson, M.F.A.Dance Program Director 
Associate Professor of Dance
patterso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3009
Office Staff 
Gillian EllisCommunications Associategellis@oakland.edu 
Jaime FinnOffice Assistant IIIfinn@oakland.edu 
Manjit GillBudget Managergill@oakland.edu
Muriel MaderAdministrative Assistantmader@oakland.edu 
Elizabeth MedvinskyInterim Music Preparatory Division Directoreawiggin@oakland.edu
Deneen StapletonRecruitment and Outreach Coordinatorstapleto@oakland.edu
Carly UhrigMarketing Manageruhrig@oakland.edu
Production Staff
Joseph BeckTechnical Directorjbeck@oakland.edu 
Katherine BoersmaProduction and Facilities Managerkeboersm@oakland.edu 
Shirleen DiFonzo Costume Shop Assistant difonzo@oakland.edu 
Jenna Fiorini Production Office Assistant jkfiorin@oakland.edu 
Megan HeraldAssistant Production and Facilities Manager meherald@oakland.edu 
Terry HeraldTechnical Coordinator, Sound Technician herald@oakland.edu 
Christy HeussnerCostume Shop Assistant heussner@oakland.edu 
Christa Koerner Costume Shop Supervisorkoerner@oakland.edu 
Chad RasorAssistant Technical Director 
Britney SpindlerBox Office Managerbspindler@startickets.com
Collaborative Pianists
Vladimir KalmskyCollaborative Pianist for Dancekalmsky@oakland.edu
Amanda Sabelhaus Collaborative Pianist accompanying Voicesabelhau@oakland.edu
Mike ListCollaborative Pianist for Dance
Michael McCabeCollaborative Pianist for Dance
Cat MenzesCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrecmenzies@oakland.edu
Michael ShimminCollaborative Pianist for Dance
Julie SteinmayerCollaborative Pianist for Choral programstaplema@oakland.edu
I-Chen YehCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
Eun Young YooCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voiceyoo@oakland.edu
Tatyana ZutCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicezut@oakland.edu
Stanley J. ZydekCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voice
Coordinator of Vocal Accompanying
zydek@oakland.edu
Undergraduate Advisors
Jim BilinskiUndergraduate Academic Advisor
Matt PrenticeUndergraduate Academic Advisormwprenti@oakland.edu
Music Ensemble Staff
Joan HovdaOrchestra Librarian, OSO
Sherri MartillaOrchestra Manager, OSO
Michele SorokaOrchestra Management Assistantmrsoroka@oakland.edu
Music
Faculty
Name Title Contact Information
Deborah (Blair) VanderLinde, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music
Music Program Director
Music Education Program Coordinator
vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022 
Kerstin Allvin, M.M.Applied Instructor, Harpallvin@oakland.edu
Amanda Blaikie, M.M.DSO Affiliate Applied Instructor, Flute sparfeld@oakland.edu 
Barbara Bland, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice blbland@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4309
Miles Brown, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Musicbrown239@oakland.edu
Regina CarterArtist-in-Residence, Jazz 
Jennifer Kincer Catallo, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music Educationkincerca@oakland.edu
Gregory Cunningham, Ed. D.Professor of Music
Instrumental Conducting
Instrumental Program Coordinator
cunningh@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3015
Dennis Curry, M.M.Applied Instructor, Carillon dncurry@oakland.edu
Drake Dantzler, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Voice
Opera Program Coordinator
dantzler@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2042
Alta Dantzler, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Voice
Special Lecturer, Music & Musical Theatre
amdantzl@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3019
Nadine DeLeury, M.M.Applied Instructor, Violoncellodeleury@oakland.edu
David Denniston, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Horndennisto@oakland.edu
Edith Diggory, D.M.A.Adjunct Assistant Professor, Voicediggory@oakland.edu 
(248) 370-3019
Sean Dobbins, B.M.Applied Instructor, Jazz Percussion
Lecturer, Music
dobbins@oakland.edu
Stephen Eisenhard, B.M.Applied Instructor, Voice
Lecturer, Opera Workshop
eisenhard@oakland.edu 
Patrick Fitzgibbon, M.M.Lecturer, Music
World Music
pwfitzgi@oakland.edu
Nina Flanigan, M.A. Music Education Internship Supervisorflanigan@oakland.edu
Ben Fuhrman, D.M.A.Lecturer, Music
Music Technology and Composition
bfuhrman@oakland.edu
Scott Gwinnell, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Applied Instructor, Jazz Piano
gwinnell@oakland.edu
John Hall, B.M.Applied Instructor, Guitarjehall@oakland.edu
Rebecca Happel, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Piano
Lecturer, Music
happel@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2138
Jeffrey Heisler, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Music
Applied Saxophone and Conducting
jaheisle@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2871
Terry Herald, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Audio Technology
herald@oakland.edu
Melissa Hoag, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music
Music Theory Program Coordinator
hoag@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4153
Bret Hoag, M.M.Applied Instructor, Guitar
Special Lecturer, Music
hoag2@oakland.edu
Sam JeyasingamApplied Instructor, Carnatic Percussionjeyasing@oakland.edu
Lois Kaarre, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music
Keyboard Classes
kaarre@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2913
David Kidger, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music, Musicology
Music History Program Co-Coordinator
kidger@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4308
Mark KiemeApplied Instructor, Jazz Saxophonekieme@oakland.edu
Roman KosarevApplied Instructor, Violakosarev@oakland.edu
Kenneth Kroesche, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Brass, Brass Band and Ensembles
Brass Program Coordinator
kroesche@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4303
James P. Lentini, D.M.A. Professor of Music
Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Provost 
jlentini@oakland.edu 
Alan MacNair, M.A.Lecturer, Music 
Chamber Orchestra
macnair@oakland.edu
Melissa Maloney, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice maloney@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2943
Dan Maslanka, M.M.Applied Instructor, Percussion
Lecturer, Music
maslanka@oakland.edu 
Elizabeth Medvinsky, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Theory for Musical Theatre Majors
eawiggin@oakland.edu
Timothy Michling, M.M. M.P.A.Applied Instructor, Oboe michling@oakland.edu 
Zelijko (Bill) Milicevic, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Strings Pedagogy
milicevi@oakland.edu 
Stephanie Michaels, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice  michaels@oakland.edu
Michael Mitchell, D.M.A Doris & Paul Travis Professor of Music
Choral Program Coordinator 
mmitchel@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2002
Christopher Napier, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Brass Techniques
napier@oakland.edu
Brian Nutting, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Instrumental Music Education
bpnuttin@oakland.edu
Jessica Payette, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music, Musicology 
Master's Program Coordinator
Music History Program Co-Coordinator
payette@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3148
Diane RaymondMusic Education Internship Supervisordianeraymond@oakland.edu
Elizabeth Rowin, M.M.Applied Instructor, Violin
Chamber Music
rowin@oakland.edu 
John Rutherford, M.M. Applied Instructor, Jazz Trombone  
Marcus Schoon, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Bassoon
Lecturer, Music
Woodwind Techniques
schoon@oakland.edu 
Joseph Shively, Ed.D.Associate Professor of Music Education
Doctoral Program Coordinator
shively@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2287
Victoria Shively, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music 
Music Theory and History, Opera Coach
shively2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3321
Gordon Simmons Applied Instructor, Trumpet simmons@oakland.edu 
Michele Soroka, M.M. Special Lecturer, Music 
Music Theory
mrsoroka@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2039
Sharon Sparrow, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Flute sparrow@oakland.edu
Anthony Stanco, M.M.Applied Instructor, Jazz Trumpet 
George Stoffan, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Clarinet, Chamber Music
Coordinator, Wind Program, Strings Program
stoffan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2038
Mark Stone, M.M.Associate Professor of Music
World Percussion Performance
Coordinator, World Music & Percussion
stone@oakland.edu 
Kristen Tait, D.M.A. Special Lecturer, Music
Music for the Non-Major
tait@oakland.edu
Jeremy Tarrant, M.M.Applied Instructor, Organtarrant@oakland.edu 
Tian Tian, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Music
Piano Performance and Pedagogy
ttian@oakland.edu
Carly Uhrig, M.A. Lecturer, Music
Foundations of Rock 
uhrig@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2032
Nadine Washington, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice (248) 370-2038 
John-Paul White, Perf. Cert. Professor of Music
Voice Program Coordinator
jpwhite@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2040
Phyllis White, Ph.D.Special Lecturer, Music 
Music for the Non-Major
pwhite@oakland.edu 
Jackie Wiggins, Ed. D.Distinguished Professor of Music Education
Department Chair
Doctoral Program Coordinator
jwiggins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2030
Spiros Xydas, Ph.D.Lecturer, Music 
Instrumental Music Education
sdxydas@oakland.edu 
I-Chen Yeh, D.M.A. Applied Instructor, Piano
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
Jeffery Zook, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Flute zook@oakland.edu 
Collaborative Pianists 
Amanda SabelhausCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicesabelhau@oakland.edu
Julie SteinmayerCollaborative Pianist for Choral programstaplema@oakland.edu
I-Chen YehCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
Eun Young YooCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voiceyoo@oakland.edu
Tatyana ZutCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicezut@oakland.edu
Stanley J. ZydekCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voice
Coordinator of Vocal Accompanying
zydek@oakland.edu
Opera Production Support 
Joseph Beckjbeck@oakland.edu
Jeremy BarnettIbarnett@oakland.edu
Kerro Knox 3knox@oakland.edu
Christa Koernerkoerner@oakland.edu
Music Preparatory Division 
Elizabeth Medvinsky, M.M.Interim Directoreawiggin@oakland.edu
Diane DemataBookkeeperdemata@oakland.edu
Theatre
Faculty
Name Title Contact Information
Kerro Knox 3, M.F.A. Theatre Program Director
Doris & Paul Travis Associate Professor of Theatre
Lighting Design, History
knox@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3025
Jeremy Barnett, M.F.A.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Theatre Design and Technology Program Coordinator
Scenic Design
barnett@oakland.edu
(781) 910-7759
Joseph Beck, M.F.A.Technical Director
Lecturer, Theatre
Stagecraft
jbeck@oakland.edu
Don Brewer, B.F.A.Lecturer, Musical Theatredbrewer@oakland.edu
Rick Carver, B.A.Lecturer, Theatre 
Acting, Mime
carver@oakland.edu 
Jamie ClausiusLecturer, Theatre
Sarah de Tute, M.F.A.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Musical Theatre
Shirleen DiFonzoCostume Shop Assistant
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction
Kitty Dubin, M.A.Lecturer, Theatre
Playwriting
dubin@oakland.edu
Michael DuncanLecturer, Theatre
Sound Design
duncan24@oakland.edu
Dana Gamarra, B.F.A. Lecturer, Theatre
Stage Management
danagamarra@oakland.edu 
Milica Govich, M.F.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre
Acting Coach
Acting for the Camera
vukasovi@oakland.edu 
David Gram, M.F.A.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting, Directing
dgram@oakland.edu
Anthony Guest, M.F.A.Associate Professor of Theatre
Acting, Directing 
aguest@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3023
Beth Guest, M.F.A.Lecturer, Theatre 
Musical Theatre History
bguest@oakland.edu
Phill Harmer, B.A.Lecturer, Theatre
Stage Combat
harmer@oakland.edu
Christy HeussnerCostume Shop Assistant
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction 
heussner@oakland.edu
Jake Hooker, MPhilSpecial Lecturer, Theatre
Theatre History, Directing
hooker@oakland.edu
Christa Koerner, M.F.A.Costume Shop Supervisor
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction
koerner@oakland.edu
Lynnae Lehfeldt, M.F.A. Associate Professor of Theatre 
Stage Voice, Acting
lehfeld2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2956
Leslie Littell, M.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Design
littell@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4577
Fred Love, M.M.Associate Professor of Theatre
Musical Theatre Program Coordinator
Musical Theatre
love2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3010
Thomas Mahard, B.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre 
Theatre for Non-Majors
mahard@oakland.edu 
Cat Menzies, B.M.Vocal Coachcmenzies@oakland.edu
Chad RasorAssistant Technical Director
Karen Sheridan, M.F.A. Professor of Theatre
Acting Program Coordinator
Acting, Directing
sheridan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2045 
Dance
Faculty
NameTitle Contact Information 
Gregory Patterson, M.F.A.Dance Program Director
Associate Professor of Dance
Artistic Director, Patterson Rhythm Pace
patterso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3009
Angela Austin, M.F.A.Lecturer, Dance
Modern, Ballet
Debi Bernstein-Siegel, M.A. Lecturer, Dance 
Dance for Non-Majors
siegel@oakland.edu 
Rebecca Crimmins, B.A.Lecturer, Dance
Tap 
crimmins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3024
Jennifer Harge, M.F.A.Lecturer, Dance
Modern, Choreography
 jenniferharge@oakland.edu
Thayer Jonutz, M.F.A.Doris & Paul Travis Associate Professor of Dance
Director, OU Repertory Dance Company
Co-Director/Co-Founder of Take Root
jonutz@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2804
Elizabeth Kattner, Ph.D.Assistant Professor of Dance
Dance History and Dance in Culture
Dance Education Program Coordinator
kattneru@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2917
Melanie King McGray, M.F.A.Lecturer, Dance melanieking@oakland.edu
Amanda LehmanLecturer, Dance
Dance for Musical Theatre
alehman@oakland.edu
Roberta Lucas, M.A.Special Lecturer in Dance Education rlucas@oakland.edu
Stephanie Pizzo, B.A. Special Lecturer in Dance
Artistic Director, Eisenhower Dance 
pizzo@oakland.edu
Christina Tasco Special Lecturer in Dance 
Director, Oakland Dance Theatre
tasco@oakland.edu 
Ali Woerner, M.F.A. Associate Professor of Dance
Co-Director/Co-Founder of Take Root
woerner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3604
Production Staff 
Jeremy Barnett barnett@oakland.edu
Joseph Beck jbeck@oakland.edu
Kerro Knoxknox@oakland.edu
Christa Koernerkoerner@oakland.edu
Dance Accompanists 
Vladimir KalmskyAccompanist for Dancekalmsky@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2049
Mike ListAccompanist for Dance
Michael McCabeAccompanist for Dancempmccabe@oakland.edu
Michael ShimminAccompanist for Dance (Percussion)shimmin@oakland.edu
Music Preparatory
Division
NameExpertiseContact Information 
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Music Program Director vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022
Elizabeth Medvinsky, M.M. Interim Music Preparatory Division Director
Voice 
eawiggin@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2034
Darren AndereggTheoryddandere@oakland.edu 
Dorina Baciu, B.M.Violinbaciu@oakland.edu
Jamie BlairVoicejblair@oakland.edu
Caitlyn BrambleEarly Childhood Musiccebrambl@oakland.edu 
Annette BrewerTubaarbrewer@oakland.edu 
Viorica Burca, M.M.Pianovburca@oakland.edu 
Dennis Curry, M.M.Carillondncurry@oakland.edu
Nadine DeLeury, M.M. Cello deleury@oakland.edu
Dave Denniston, D.M.A. French Horn dennisto@oakland.edu 
Yevgenya Derian, M.M.Piano yderian@oakland.edu
(313) 590-4748
Sean Dobbins, B.M. Jazz Percussion dobbins@oakland.edu 
Patrick Fitzgibbon, M.M. Percussion pwfitzgi@oakland.edu 
Ben Fuhrman, D.M.A.Composition and Music Technologybfuhrman@oakland.edu
Melanie Godo, B.M. Flute mmboose@oakland.edu 
Scott Gwinnell, M.M.Jazz Piano gwinnell@oakland.edu 
John Hall, B.M.Guitar jehall@oakland.edu 
Rebecca Happel, D.M.A.Pianohappel@oakland.edu
Jeffrey Heisler, D.M.A.Saxophonejaheisle@oakland.edu
Halla Hilborne, B.M.Violinhehilbor@oakland.edu 
Bret Hoag, M.M. Guitar hoag2@oakland.edu
(248) 622-3519
Sunkyeung Hong, M.M. Piano hsunkyeu@oakland.edu
(248) 761-6051
David Johnson, B.M.Guitar dejohns4@oakland.edu
(586) 610-0283
Lois Kaarre, M.M.Pianokaarre@oakland.edu
Joshua Kolpak, B.M.Pianojjkolpak@oakland.edu
Shinko Kondo, Ph.D.Beginning Pianoskondo2@oakland.edu
(248) 462-2726 
Ian LesterEuphoniumiclester@oakland.edu
Kim Louden, B.M. Voice kslozon@oakland.edu
(248) 227-6372
Dan Maslanka, M.M.Percussion maslanka@oakland.edu
(586) 264-5326
Maggie McKelveyPiano
Blair Mellow, B.M.Voicebhmellow@oakland.edu
Tim Michling, M.M.Oboemichling@oakland.edu
Leslie Naeve, M.M. Voice lanaeve@oakland.edu
(586) 770-1504
Chris Napier, M.M. Trumpet napier@oakland.edu
(586) 662-0582
Heather Neuenschwander, M.M. Flute hneuensc@oakland.edu 
Milan PuscasCello
Anamarie Sabbagh, M.B.A.Early Pianomusprep@oakland.edu 
Alex Sellers, B.M.Saxophone musprep@oakland.edu 
Nicole Shogren, M.M. Cello shogren@oakland.edu 
(248) 840-1409
Michele Soroka, M.M.Theorymrsoroka@oakland.edu
George Stoffan, D.M.A. Clarinet stoffan@oakland.edu 
Mark Stone, M.M. World Percussion stone@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2044
Judith A. Teasdle, M.M.Violin/Viola teasdle@oakland.edu 
Chris Wheeler, M.M.Oboemusprep@oakland.edu 
I-Chen Yeh, D.M.A.Pianoyeh@oakland.edu
Tai Yeung, M.M.Clarinethyeung@oakland.edu
Jocelyn Zelasko, M.M.Voicejmfekel@oakland.edu
Alexandra Zetye, B.M.Pianoazetye@oakland.edu
Emeriti
David DanielsProfessor Emeritus of Music 
John Dovaras Professor Emeritus of Music 
Laurie Eisenhower Professor Emerita of Dance 
Robert Facko Professor Emeritus of Music 
Michael GillespieProfessor Emeritus of Theatre 
Adeline G. Hirschfeld-MedaliaProfessor Emerita of Theatre
Marvin D. HolladayProfessor Emeritus of Music
Flavio VaraniProfessor Emeritus of Music