OUTV programming highlighted at 39th Annual Telly Awards

OUTV programming highlighted at 39th Telly Awards
The OUTV series Visiting Professionals earned a Bronze Telly Award at this year's event. The show, hosted by student Austin Slabough, right, featured guests like Amber Stankoff. Stankoff is an OU alumna and currently works as an associate video producer at The Henry Ford.

Oakland University’s OUTV has been selected as a Bronze Telly Award winner at this year’s Telly Awards for its student-hosted series Visiting Professionals.


Visiting Professionals was selected from the Television category for “General Documentary Series” and was judged against the likes of ESPN, PBS stations, Hong Kong TV and submissions from many other talented groups.


Visiting Professionals is an acclaimed series that is produced by Brian Bukantis, with support from OU Video Services Director and executive producer Heather Haughey and producer and AVID editor Horatiu Zglimbea. This year’s shows were hosted by Cinema Studies major Austin Slabough and featured camera operation support from students Sarah Griffith, Aiden Scheiber and Noah Thulin. 


The episodes submitted for the Telly Awards included profiles on Chris Campbell, a WDET radio show host, Matt Reznik, a producer and editor at the Mindfield advertising agency and Amber Stankoff, associate video producer at The Henry Ford.


“I am very proud of our Telly Award-winning OUTV team,” said George Preisinger, assistant vice president, Technology Support Client Services. “The on-the-job experiences Heather and her team give our student staff members is instrumental in their future careers in the video and broadcast field and a prime example of what makes OU a great place for student growth and success outside the classroom.”

This year’s award announcement caps a year-long initiative by the Telly Awards to rebuild the honors for the multi-screen era. Throughout 2017-2018 the program refashioned categories to honor the type of work being made by leading producers, including branded content, social video and animation, as well as working with industry experts to identify important industry categories where technology was playing an impactful role in the ways stories are now being told: Virtual Reality, Interactive and 360 Video.

To judge all this new and innovative work, the Tellys recruited over 200 new judges, from companies such as Vimeo, Duplass Productions’ Donut, ustwo, Discovery Networks, VaynerMedia and Framestore to join the Telly Award Judging Council.  

“The 39th Annual Telly Awards is our most historic season yet,” Sabrina Dridje, managing director of the Telly Awards said in an email to OUTV. “We’re thrilled to recognize you as a standard bearer of video excellence.”

View all of winners of the 39th Annual Telly Awards winners at www.tellyawards.com/winners.

About OUTV:

OUTV is a cable television station operated by Oakland University Video Services staff and students. OUTV produces broadcast quality programming that reflects the ideals and standards of Oakland University while utilizing, teaching and nurturing student crew members so they develop the skills necessary to successfully enter the video production industry. OUTV programming is intended to entertain, inform and promote Oakland University to the viewing public. Much of OUTV’s work can be seen on local cable stations and on their social media channels.

About The Telly Awards

The Telly Awards is the premier award honoring video and television across all screens. Established in 1979, The Telly Awards receives over 12,000 entries from all 50 states and 5 continents. Entrants are judged by The Telly Awards Judging Council—an industry body of over 200 leading experts including advertising agencies, production companies, and major television networks, reflective of the multiscreen industry The Telly Awards celebrates. Partners of The Telly Awards include NAB, StudioDaily, Stash Magazine, and Digiday.


Bronze Telly Award graphic
OUTV earned a Bronze Telly Award at this year's event.