School of Music, Theatre
and Dance

Varner Hall, Room 207
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
Academic Office: (248) 370-2030
Box Office: (248) 370-3013
Fax: (248) 370-2041

Oakland Symphony Orchestra

Oakland University's resident professional orchestra traces its tradition of excellence back to 1976. Each season it provides Southeast Michigan with outstanding performances of the finest symphonic repertoire.

Click here to view the 2017-18 Oakland Symphony Orchestra brochure!

Oakland Symphony Orchestra

Concert I
Sunday, October 1, 2017 at 3 p.m.

The 2017-18 Oakland Symphony Orchestra season begins with an exciting program including Scherzo capriccioso, Op. 66 by Antonín Dvorák; Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.47 by Jean Sibelius, with guest violin soloist Yevgeny Kutik; and Pini di Roma by Ottorino Respighi.  
Gregory Cunningham, conductor. 
$20 general, $10 students
Varner Recital Hall

Concert II
Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 3 p.m.

The Oakland Symphony Orchestra will offer a program that includes Le corsaire, Op. 21 by Hector Berlioz; Introduction and Allegro, Op. 47 by Edward Elgar, with guest conductor Alan MacNair; Suite Française by Francis Poulenc; and Symphony No. 2, Op. 16 “The Four Temperaments” by Carl Nielsen.   
Gregory Cunningham, conductor
$20 general, $10 students
Varner Recital Hall 

Concert III 21st Annual David Daniels Young Artists Concert
Sunday, February 11, 2018
 at 3 p.m.

The Oakland Symphony Orchestra will offer a program to include Field of Infinite Forms for orchestra and digital playback by Christopher Theofanidis and Bolero by Maurice Ravel. This annual highlight of the season will also feature solo performances by the winners of the 2017–18 Oakland University concerto competition.
$20 general, $10 students
Click here to purchase tickets!
Varner Recital Hall

Concert IV
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.

Join us at Detroit’s Orchestra Hall for Oakland Symphony Orchestra’s final concert of the season. The orchestra will perform Fanfare for the Common Man by Aaron Copland and A Survivor from Warsaw , Op. 46 by Arnold Schoenberg, with John-Paul White, narrator. They will be joined by the Oakland University Symphony Chorus and Detroit Concert Choir for Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 by Ludwig van Beethoven. Melissa Maloney, soprano; Alta Dantzler, mezzo soprano; Drake Dantzler, tenor; and John-Paul White, bass. Gregory Cunningham, conductor.
$20 general, $10 students.  Click here to purchase tickets!
Orchestra Hall in Detroit
the Conductor
Gregory Cunningham, conductor

Gregory Cunningham is Professor of Music at Oakland University, where he serves as Director of Bands, conducts the Oakland University Wind Symphony, and teaches orchestral/wind conducting and literature at the graduate and undergraduate levels. 

He is also a frequent guest conductor of honor orchestras and bands throughout the Midwest and he serves as a guest conductor and clinician for many high school and middle school ensembles throughout the United States.