Snyder appoints new members to Oakland University Board of Trustees

Governor Snyder appoints new members to Oakland University Board of Trustees
aerial of OU campus

Gov. Rick Snyder has announced the appointments of Tonya Allen of Troy, Marianne Fey of Birmingham and Robert Schostak of Bloomfield Hills to the Oakland University Board of Trustees.  


"Oakland University and its Board of Trustees are pleased to welcome outstanding new trustees with superb professional credentials, knowledge and expertise," said Richard L. DeVore, recently appointed chair of the Oakland University Board of Trustees.

Oakland University President George W. Hynd, added “I am absolutely thrilled to have new ideas, new energy and new perspectives join the Oakland campus community at this exciting time in our history.”

Allen is the president and CEO of the Skillman Foundation, an organization aimed at improving the lives and futures of children in Detroit. She is the former executive director and founder of the Detroit Parent Network. Allen holds a bachelor’s degree in sociology and African and African-American studies, a master’s degree in non-profit administration and a master’s degree in health behavior and health education from the University of Michigan. She will replace Richard Flynn.


Schostak started the multi-disciplined consulting firm, Templar Baker Group, LLC. He is the co-CEO of Schostak Brothers & Company. He is former chairman of the Michigan Republican Party and serves on the American Heart Association Board, the Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Detroit Board of Governors and the Detroit Board of Realtors. Schostak holds a bachelor’s degree in economics and communication from Oakland University. He will replace Michael Kramer.


Fey is a senior director with DWH, LLC, a business consulting firm located in Detroit. Prior to working with DWH, she was an entrepreneurial coach and venture accelerator for Tech Town Detroit and the executive vice president and group managing director for McCann Erickson. She is currently a board member of Invest Michigan and Inforum Center for Leadership, as well as an emeritus trustee of Detroit Public Television. Fey holds a bachelor’s degree in communication from Oakland University and a master of business administration from Michigan State University.


Fey will serve the remainder of an eight-year term expiring Aug. 11, 2020. Allen and Schostak will serve eight-year terms expiring Aug. 11, 2024. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

From left, Tonya Allen, Robert Schostak and Marianne Fey have been appointed to serve on the Oakland University Board of Trustees by Michigan Governor Rick Snyder.


About the Oakland University Board of Trustees:
Oakland University is governed by an eight-member Board of Trustees appointed by the governor to serve eight-year terms. The board provides general supervision of the university, including control and direction of all expenditures from the institution's funds. The board also appoints the university president, as well as the secretary to the board and treasurer.