Mobile Navigation Menu Icon. 3 horizontal gold bars.

College of Arts and Sciences
Dean's Office

Varner Hall, Room 217
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-2140
Fax: (248) 370-4280
cas@oakland.edu

College of Arts and Sciences Advising

O'Dowd Hall, Room 130
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-4567
casadv@oakland.edu

College of Arts and Sciences
Dean's Office

Varner Hall, Room 217
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-2140
Fax: (248) 370-4280
cas@oakland.edu

Two women standing at a desk, looking at a computer screen together.

Committees and Membership

The College of Arts and Sciences Committees on Instruction are comprised of a rotating body of faculty members that represent the whole of the disciplines within the College. These bodies collaborate and communicate to work towards the constant optimization of College processes, programs and curriculum.

Standing Committees
BGS Faculty Council

There are no members entered for this committee

Commencement Committee

Amy Banes-Berceli
banesber@oakland.edu
Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Committee on Appointment and Promotion 2019-20

Fay Hansen
Mathematics/Sciences
hansensm@oakland.edu
Department: Biological Sciences

John Corso
Humanities
corso@oakland.edu
Department: Art and Art History

Jeff Chapman
Languages/Literatures
chapman4@oakland.edu
Department: English

David Garfinkle
Mathematics/Sciences
garfinkl@oakland.edu
Department: Physics

Harvey Qu
At-Large
qu@oakland.edu
Department: Communication and Journalism

Jennifer Vonk
Social Sciences
vonk@oakland.edu
Department: Psychology

Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex Officio
corcoran@oakland.edu
Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Committee on Instruction 2020-21

Sandy Dykstra
Ex Officio
dykstra@oakland.edu
Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Amy Banes-Berceli
Ex Officio
banesber@oakland.edu
Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Andrea Wenz
ostergaa@oakland.edu
Department: History

Jacob Cayanus
cayanus@oakland.edu
Department: Art and Art History

Cody Eldridge
celdredge@oakland.edu
Department: Political Science

Andrea Kozak
kozak@oakland.edu
Department: Psychology

Tom Raffel
raffel@oakland.edu
Department: Biological Sciences

Jessica Payette
payette@oakland.edu
Department: Music

Elections Committee 2019-20

Sam Srauy
srauy@oakland.edu
Department: Communication

Angela Kaiser
kaiser@oakland.edu
Department: Social Work

Kuniko Nielsen
nielsen@oakland.edu
Department: Linguistics

Executive Committee 2019-20

Keith Berven
Mathematics/Sciences
berven@oakland.edu
Department: Biological Sciences

Laura Landolt
Social Science
landolt@oakland.edu
Department: Political Science

Anja Wieden
Languages/Literatures
wieden@oakland.edu
Department: Modern Languages and Literatures

Paul Graves
Humanities
graves@oakland.edu
Department: Philosophy

David Kidger
At Large
kidger@oakland.edu
Department: Music

Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex-Officio
corcoran@oakland.edu
Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Graduate Council Representative

There are no members entered for this committee

Graduate Studies Committee 2019-20

Jacob Cayanus
Languages/Literatures
cayanus@oakland.edu
Department: Communication and Journalism

Jessica Payette
Humanities
payette@oakland.edu
Department: School of Music, Theatre and Dance

Sandy Dykstra
Ex officio
dykstra@oakland.edu
Department: College of Arts and Sciences

Robert Stewart
Ex-officio
stewart@oakland.edu
Department: College of Arts and Sciences

James Naus
Social Sciences
naus@oakland.edu
Department: History

Alison Powell
Languages/Literatures
powell@oakland.edu
Department: English

Martha Escobar
Social Sciences
marthaescobar@oakland.edu
Department: Psychology

Thomas Raffel
Mathematics/Sciences
raffel@oakland.edu
Department: Biological Sciences

University Senate 2015-18 CAS membership

Arik Dvir
Mathematics/Sciences
dvir@oakland.edu
Department: Biological Sciences

Eddie Cheng
Mathematics/Sciences
echeng@oakland.edu
Department: Mathematics and Statistics

Keith Berven
Mathematics/Sciences
berven@oakland.edu
Department: Biological Sciences

Mary Craig
Mathematics/Sciences
mecraig@oakland.edu
Department: Biological Sciences

Amy Banes-Bercelli
Mathematics/Sciences
banesber@oakland.edu
Department: Mathematics and Statistics

Brad Roth
Mathematics/Sciences
roth@oakland.edu
Department: Physics

Natalie Cole
Languages/Literatures
cole@oakland.edu
Department: English

Jeffrey Insko
Languages/Literatures
insko@oakland.edu
Department: English

Andrea Eis
Languages/Literatures
eis@oakland.edu
Department: English

Niels Herold
Languages/Literatures
herold@oakland.edu
Department: English

Dikka Berven
Languages/Literatures
dberven@oakland.edu
Department: Modern Languages and Literatures

Jennifer Law Sullivan
Languages/Literatures
law@oakland.edu
Department: Modern Languages and Literatures

Mark Navin
Humanities
navin@oakland.edu
Department: Philosophy

John Corso
Humanities
corso@oakland.edu
Department: Art and Art History

Ami Harbin
Humanities
aharbin@oakland.edu
Department: Philosophy

Mark Rigstad
Humanities
rigstad@oakland.edu
Department: Art and Art History

Todd Estes
Humanities
estes@oakland.edu
Department: History

Henri Gooren
Social Sciences
gooren@oakland.edu
Department: Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work & Criminal Justice

David Dulio
Social Sciences
ddulio@oakland.edu
Department: Political Science

Jo Reger
Social Sciences
reger@oakland.edu
Department: Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work & Criminal Justice

Jay Meehan
Social Sciences
meehan@oakland.edu
Department: Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work & Criminal Justice

Alan Epstein
Political Science
epstein@oakland.edu
Department: Political Science

Document Requests

If you would like to obtain copies of current or past minutes, agendas or documents for the committees, please contact the College of Arts and Sciences at (248) 370-2140 or email cas@oakland.edu.

New Course Guidelines

Please use this checklist and the coordinating documents as a resource in developing new courses as it is used by members of the Committee on Instruction in the new course review process. To ensure timely approval of course proposals, submitters are encouraged to review these criteria and incorporate them within their submissions.

New Course Evaluation Checklist

Example 1: Objectives

Example 2: Attendance Policy Example

Example 3: Participation Grades

Example 4: Grading Scales