Department of Communication, Journalism, and Public Relations

Wilson Hall, Room 316
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester, MI 48309-4486
(location map)
(248) 370-4120

General Department Questions:
Debra Koehler

Faculty/Staff Directory

Full-Time Faculty

 NAME/TITLEEMAIL
OFFICE
PHONE
Professor
battles@oakland.edu325 Wilson (248) 370-4277

Associate Professor
cayanus@oakland.edu303A Wilson (248) 370-4987

Associate Professor
cooper@oakland.edu329 Wilson  
(248) 370-4127

Associate Professor
slcrabil@oakland.edu160 North
Foundation
(248) 370-3229

 
Thomas Discenna
Professor 
discenna@oakland.edu326 Wilson (248) 370-4128 
Professor &
Graduate Director
farrugia@oakland.edu
305 Wilson

(248) 370-2065

Journalism Program Director
gjgilber@oakland.edu 107 Vandenberg(248) 370-2105 

Adjunct Instructor & Senior
Adviser for Journalism and Public Relations
shreve@oakland.edu 315 Wilson(248) 370-4138
Professor
hay@oakland.edu304A Wilson(248) 370-4133 

Associate Professor  
heisler@oakland.edu521 Wilson 
(248) 370-4139

Special Instructor  &
Internship Director
hlavaty2@oakland.edu155 Dodge Hall(248) 370-4331 

Sharon Howell
Professor
howell@oakland.edu 
322 Wilson 
(248) 370-2102 
Photo of Zexin Marsha Ma

Zexin 'Marsha' Ma
Assistant Professor

zexinma@oakland.edu110 East
Vandenberg
(248) 370-4526

Professor 
mendoza@oakland.edu 
330 Wilson (248) 370-2685  

Associate Professor
rebeccajones@oakland.edu
305 Wilson 
(248) 370-2514 

Associate Professor 
emeyers@oakland.edu308A Wilson(248) 370-2507  

Professor 
 vpalmer@oakland.edu328 Wilson(248) 370-2139
Adina Schneeweis
Associate Professor
schneewe@oakland.edu109 Vandenberg(248) 370-2776

Professor &
Communication Program Director
sideling@oakland.edu306A Wilson(248) 370-4126  
Sam Srauy
Associate Professor
srauy@oakland.edu303 Wilson(248) 370-4352
 
Coordinator of Broadcast
Services & Adjunct Faculty
cronauer@oakland.edu154 Dodge Hall (248) 370-4525
Chiaoning Su 
Assistant Professor
chiaoningsu@oakland.edu107A Vandenberg (248) 370-4049
Special Instructor & Senior Adviser for Communication
talbert@oakland.edu308 Wilson(248) 370-2592
headshot of Goulan Yang
Assistant Professor
Journalism

gyang3@oakland.edu

305 A Wilson(248) 370-2514
Jeff Youngquist
Associate Professor
& Chairperson 
 
youngqui@oakland.edu316 Wilson(248) 370-4122  
Part-Time Faculty
  NAME/TITLEEMAIL
 Lisa Campbell Lisa Campbell
Special Lecturer
llcampbe@oakland.edu

 

 

Tina Collins
Special Lecturer

tacolli2@oakland.edu
  

Emily Cutlip
Lecturer 

 

emcutlip@oakland.edu

 Susan Evans
Lecturer 
evans234@oakland.edu
 

Paul Fugate
Special Lecturer 

 fugate@oakland.edu

 

 Jaclyn Gaule Lecturerjaclyngaule@oakland.edu
  

Tim Johnston
Special Lecturer

tsjohnston@comcast.net
  

John Kirsch
Lecturer

jkirsh@oakland.edu 
  Kelly Kozlowski
Lecturer 
klkozlo2@oakland.edu
  Kim Madeleine
Special Lecturer
madelein@oakland.edu
Nick Monacelli
Lecturer
monacelli@oakland.edu

Jason Pennington
Lecturer

penningt@oakland.edu
  Jim Perkinson
Lecturer
jperkinson@etseminary.edu
  Charlie Rinehart
Special Lecturer
rinehart@oakland.edu
  

 

Judy Sawyer
Lecturer 

 

sawyer@oakland.edu
  

 

Ritu Sehgal
Lecturer

 

sehgal@oakland.edu 
 Marty Shafer 

 

Marty Shafer
Special Lecturer

 

 mdshafer@oakland.edu
 

Kelly Skillin
Lecturer

kskillin@oakland.edu
  

 

Shannon Stefanide
Special Lecturer

 

 sholsbeke@oakland.edu
  

Debbie Youngquist
Special Lecturer 

youngqu2@oakland.edu
  
Staff
NAME/TITLEEMAIL OFFICE
PHONE
FAX
Debra Koehler
Secretary
koehler@oakland.edu 316 Wilson Hall(248) 370-4120(248) 370-4208
Crystal Bell
Administrative Secretary
clbell@oakland.edu317 Wilson Hall(248) 370-4121(248) 370-4208