Department of History

Varner Hall, Room 416
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-3510
fax: (248) 370-3528

History Faculty & Staff

Faculty
Associate Professor
Modern Africa, Environment and Development, Identity, Conflict Studies
406 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3517
bekele@oakland.edu
Associate Professor
Early Modern France and Europe, Early French Colonial History
412 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3526
chapman@oakland.edu
Daniel Clark
Associate Professor
American Labor History, 20th-Century U.S. Social History
407 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3532
djclark@oakland.edu
Erin Dwyer
Assistant Professor
19th-Century U.S., African-American History, Civil War and Reconstruction, Gender and Sexuality, Public History
409 Varner Hall 
(248) 370-3519
dwyer@oakland.edu
Photo of De Witt Dykes
De Witt S. Dykes Jr.

Associate Professor
African-American History, U.S. Urban History, Gender and Family History
414 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3522
dykes@oakland.edu
Photo of Todd Estes
Todd Estes

Professor 
American Revolution, Early National Period, Jacksonian America
402 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3534
estes@oakland.edu 
Ian Greenspan
Special Lecturer
Early Modern and Modern Europe, Religious and Ethnic Conflict, Antisemitism, Propaganda
455 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3518
greenspa@oakland.edu
Derek Hastings
Associate Professor
Modern Europe, Germany, Nationalism, Religion and Society
405 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3535
hastings@oakland.edu
Robert Holland
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Modern Europe
455 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3518
holland@oakland.edu
Assistant Professor
Modern China, Sino-Soviet Relations, East Asia
410B Varner Hall
(248) 370-3536
yli23458@oakland.edu
William Londo
Special Lecturer
East Asia, Japan, Religion and Society
453 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3516
londo@oakland.edu
Photo of Don Matthews
Weldon C. Matthews

Associate Professor
Modern Middle East, Nationalism
404 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3525
matthews@oakland.edu
Mary Jo Miles
Special Lecturer
U.S. History
455 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3518
miles@oakland.edu
Photo of Karen Miller
Karen Miller

Associate Professor
U.S. Public Policy, Diplomatic and Economic History
413 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3512
kjmiller@oakland.edu
Photo of George Milne
George Milne

Associate Professor
Early American History, Native American History
415 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3530
milne@oakland.edu
Seán Farrell Moran
Associate Professor
Modern Britain, Ireland, History of Ideas, 20th-Century Europe
408 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3533
moran@oakland.edu
Photo of James Naus
James Naus

Associate Professor and Chair
Medieval Europe
402 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3531
naus@oakland.edu
Jeffrey Powell
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Early America, Modern Europe
468 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3521
powell2@oakland.edu
Dale Prentiss
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Economic and Social History
468 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3521
prentiss@oakland.edu
Cara Shelly
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Michigan History
453 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3516
shelly@oakland.edu
Photo of Liz Sheski
Elizabeth Shesko

Assistant Professor
Latin American History, Race and Ethnicity
403 Varner Hall 
(248) 370-3529 
shesko@oakland.edu 
Bruce Zellers
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Military History, Korean War
453 Varner Hall
(248) 370-3516
zellers@oakland.edu

Professors Emeriti

Linda Benson
Professor Emerita
Carl Osthaus
Professor Emeritus
James D. Graham
Professor Emeritus
S. Bernard Thomas
Professor Emeritus 
Mary Karasch
Professor Emerita
Richard Tucker
Professor Emeritus 
Roy Kotynek
Professor Emeritus
 
Staff

NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
FAXEMAIL
Janet Chandler
Administrative Secretary
416A Varner Hall(248) 370-3510(248) 370-3528chandler@oakland.edu
Johanna McReynolds
Secretary 
416 Varner Hall(248) 370-3511(248) 370-3528jkessler@oakland.edu
Mikayla Benton
Graduate Assistant
410A Varner Hall(248) 370-3527(248) 370-3528mmbenton@oakland.edu
In Memoriam
Charles W. Akers
Professor Emeritus
Leonardas Gerulaitis
Professor Emeritus
V. John Barnard
Professor Emeritus
W. Patrick Strauss
Professor Emeritus 
Jace Crouch
Special Lecturer
Anne Tripp
Professor Emerita 
Ronald C. Finucane
Distinguished Professor