Department of Philosophy

Mathematics and Science Center, Room 752
146 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
(248) 370-3390
fax: (248) 370-3157

Philosophy Faculty/Staff Directory

Philosophy Faculty/Staff Directory

Staff

NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
 FAXEMAIL

Ann Zimmerman
Administrative Secretary

752 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3390 (248) 370-3144zimmerm2@oakland.edu

 

Full-Time Faculty

NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
EMAIL

Sharon Berry
Special Instructor
Philosophy of Mathematics, Epistemology, Logic, MetaMetaphysics

654 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3145sharonberry@oakland.edu

Joshua Blanchard
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion

646 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2163jblanchard@oakland.edu

Paul R. Graves
Associate Professor
History of Modern Western Philosophy (especially Locke), Symbolic Logic, Philosophy of Language

651 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3393graves@oakland.edu
John F. Halpin
Associate Professor
thelogiccafe.net
Philosophy of Science, Logic
750 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2264
(248) 370-3144
halpin@oakland.edu

Ami Harbin
Associate Professor
Feminist Philosophy, Bioethics, Moral Psychology

644 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3301aharbin@oakland.edu

Michael Doan
Associate Professor
Social Epistemology, Social and Political Philosophy, Moral Psychology

650 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3391 doan@oakland.edu

Elysa Koppelman-White
Associate Professor
Ethics, Research Ethics, Bioethics, Professional Ethics (e.g., Engineering Ethics)

652 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3395koppelma@oakland.edu

Eric LaRock
Associate Professor
Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Neuroscience (especially consciousness), Metaphysics, Ancient Philosophy (especially Aristotle)
personal website

751 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-4902larock@oakland.edu

Fritz J. McDonald
Associate Professor
Metaethics, Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence

653 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3394mcdonal4@oakland.edu

Mark C. Navin
Professor and Chair
Bioethics (especially Clinical Ethics and Public Health Ethics), Social and Political Philosophy

746 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2716navin@oakland.edu

Daniel Propson
Full-time Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ancient Philosophy, Plato, Engineering Ethics, Philosophy of Religion

648 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3557propson@oakland.edu

Mark Rigstad
Associate Professor 
JustWarTheory.com
Political Philosophy, Philosophy of International Relations, Philosophy of Law, History of Ethical and Political Thought (especially Early Modern)

753 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2662rigstad@oakland.edu

Phyllis Rooney
Professor
Feminist Philosophy, Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Logic

748 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3392rooney@oakland.edu

David A. Stone
Chief Research Officer
Philosophy of Natural and Social Science, Technology, and Medicine; Ethics

The Research Officedstone@oakland.edu

Part-Time Faculty 

NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
EMAIL
John Burn
Special Lecturer
Ethics, Logic
642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705burn@oakland.edu
Special Lecturer
Ethics Bowl
642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705llcampbe@oakland.edu

Timothy Kirschenheiter
Special Lecturer

642 Mathematics and Science Center kirschenheiter@oakland.edu

Drew A. Matzke
Special Lecturer

642 Math and Science Centerdamatzke@oakland.edu
Special Lecturer
Ethics, Metaethics, Moral Psychology
654 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705anthonywilliams@oakland.edu
Daniel Yeakel
Special Lecturer
Logic, Epistemology
642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705yeakel@oakland.edu

 

Philosophy Faculty Emeritus

NAME/TITLEEMAIL

David C. Bricker
Ethics, Political Philosophy, and Philosophy of Law

brickerscd@yahoo.com