Department of Physics

Mathematics and Science Center, Room 190
146 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309
(location map)
(248) 370-3416
Fax: (248) 370-3408

Honors and Awards
The Department of Physics proudly received the first Outstanding Research Support Achievement Award ( ORSAA), which was established to recognize individual academic units for their outstanding funded research supports. During a ceremony hosted by the President’s Office on December 7, 2007, the Department of Physics displayed its innovative research findings.

Professor  David Garfinkle has been recognized as an Outstanding Referee for the American Physical Society (APS). He was chosen as one of the inaugural group of 534 Outstanding Referees (out of 42,000), named by editors of APS journals. "Your reports and advice have helped to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics, while creating a resource that is invaluable to authors, researchers, students, and readers."

Dr. Evgeniy Khain won third prize in a poster competition at The Dynamics Days Europe 2008 conference for his poster, "Hydrodynamics of fluid-solid coexistence in dense shear granular flow."

Grants and Awards

The Department of Physics is a leader in external funding among OU departments.

Grant Funding for the Past Five Years

New funding received by the Department of Physics in May 2007- April 2008 (more than $2.9 million):

Faculty MemberOrganizationDateAmount
George MartinsNSF9/1/2007$224,000
Andrei SlavinTARDEC, U.S. Army8/27/2007$50,000
Andrei SlavinNSF6/30/2007$180,000
Andrei SlavinOakland University6/1/2007$13,000
Gopalan SrinivasanDoD-ONR5/1/2007$290,000
Yang XiaNIH4/30/2008$2,225,456