Political Science

Varner Hall, Room 418
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-2352

Faculty And Staff

Meet the Faculty/Staff

Courses in the Political Science Department are taught by a full-time faculty of 17, many of whom are nationally or internationally recognized experts in their fields of study.

Several of our faculty, in addition to teaching in our undergraduate programs, also teach in the Master of Public Administration program.

Political Science Faculty

Shelly Appleton
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. - University of Minnesota

Cristian Cantir
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Kansas
cantir@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2377
443 Varner

Douglas Carr
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Kentucky
carr@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2972
423 Varner Hall

David Dulio
Professor
Internship Director, Political Science & International Relations
Ph.D. - American University
ddulio@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2523
430 Varner Hall


Cody Eldredge
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. - University of Colorado at Boulder
celdredge@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3660
456 Varner Hall

Alan Epstein
Special Instructor
Ph.D. - Cornell University
epstein@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2358
424 Varner Hall

Matthew Fails
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Missouri
fails@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2765
431 Varner Hall

Robert Goldstein
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. - University of Chicago
goldstei@oakland.edu

Diane Hartmus
Associate Professor
Internship Director, Public Administration
Juris Doctorate - Boston College Law School
hartmus@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2375
429 Varner Hall

Sung-eun Kim
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. - SUNY - Albany
skim4@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2628
463 Varner Hall


John Klemanski
Professor
Ph.D. - Wayne State University
klemansk@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2355
445 Varner Hall

Paul Kubicek
Professor
Ph.D. - University of Michigan
kubicek@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2363
419 Varner Hall

Laura Landolt
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Arizona, Tucson
landolt@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2365
428 Varner Hall

Roger Larocca
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Chicago
larocca@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2353
422 Varner Hall

Nicole Asmussen Mathew
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Rochester
nmathew@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4365
463 Varner Hall

Christian McDavid
Office Assistant II
cnmcdavid@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2352
418 Varner Hall

Claudia Petrescu
Professor and Dean of Graduate Education
Ph.D. - University of Pittsburgh
cpetrescu@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3169
520 O'Dowd Hall

J.P. (Pat) Piskulich
Associate Professor/MPA Director
Ph.D. - SUNY - Binghamton
ppiskuli@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2454
441 Varner Hall

C. Michelle Piskulich
Associate Professor and Associate Provost
Ph.D. - SUNY - Binghamton
piskulic@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2190
205 Wilson Hall

Jen Sikora
MPA Program Coordinator
jsikora@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4117
420 Varner Hall

Terri Towner
Professor and Pi Sigma Alpha Advisor
Ph.D. - Purdue University
towner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2351
426 Varner Hall

Peter F. Trumbore
Professor & Chair
Ph.D. - University of Connecticut
ptrumbor@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4907
417 Varner Hall

Julie Walters
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - George Mason University School of Public Policy
J.D. - Indiana University School of Law
walters@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2362
425 Varner Hall

MPA Faculty
Douglas Carr
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Kentucky
carr@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2972 

Diane Hartmus
Associate Professor and Internship Director
J.D. - Boston College
hartmus@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2375 

Sung-eun Kim
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. - SUNY - Albany
skim4@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2628

John S. Klemanski
Professor
Ph.D. - Wayne State University
klemansk@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2355

C. Michelle Piskulich
Associate Professor and Associate Provost Academic Affairs
Ph.D. - State University of New York (Binghamton)
piskulic@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4945

J. P. (Pat) Piskulich
Associate Professor and MPA Director
Ph.D. - State University of New York (Binghamton)
ppiskuli@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2454

Julie Walters
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - George Mason University
walters@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2362

MPA Program Coordinator

Jen Sikora
jsikora@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4117

Graduate Assistants

Elliott Stepanian
estepanian@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2364

Elizabeth Scafe
escafe@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2674