Office of the President

Wilson Hall, Room 204
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester , MI 48309-4486
(location map)

Awards and Recognition

With extensive engagement in academic, medical and business communities for nearly four decades, President Ora Hirsch Pescovitz, M.D., has made substantial and meaningful contributions to the fields of education, healthcare, leadership, diversity and women’s issues. Her accomplishments include hundreds of academic publications and presentations, as well as the awarding of a U.S. patent. She has completed this work while fulfilling academic and leadership appointments at nine universities and health care institutions; membership in seven professional societies; service on scores of boards and committees; and involvement in dozens of community service activities. The following is a select list from more than 60 professional honors and awards President Pescovitz has received throughout her distinguished career.

  • Becker’s Healthcare Leadership Award (2014)
  • One of Twenty Hospital and Health System Leaders to Follow on Twitter, Becker’s Hospital Review (2013)
  • Mentor Recognition Program awardee, American Medical Association, Women Physicians Section
  • Northwestern University Alumni Merit Award (2012)
  • Election to the National Academy of Medicine (2011)
  • Robert H. Williams Distinguished Leadership Award, The Endocrine Society (2011)
  • Crain’s Detroit Business Newsmakers of the Year (2010)
  • Top 25 Women in Healthcare from Modern Healthcare (2009)
  • Sagamore of the Wabash Award for Excellence from Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels (2009)
  • President’s Medal, Indiana University (2009)
  • “Influential Women in Indianapolis,” Indianapolis Business Journal (2007)
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine (2004)
  • Teaching Excellence Recognition Award, Indiana University (1999)
  • “Forty Under Forty,” Indiana Business Journal
  • Research Career Development Award from the NIH (1991-1996)
  • Outstanding Faculty Educator Award, Department of Pediatrics, University of Minnesota (1985 and 1986)