Office of the Provost

Wilson Hall, Room 205
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester, MI 48309-4486
(location map)
(248) 370-2190

A man standing behind a podium with a microphone.

Committees and Councils

Below are the committees and councils within Academic Affairs. Please contact the council or committee chair with any questions.

Academic Affairs Administrative Operation Group

The Academic Affairs Administrative Operations Group meets periodically to discuss academic employment and budget administration in the division. Participants include representatives from the Provost's Office, the Schools and College, Budget, Registrar, Grants, Contracts and Sponsored Research, Kresge Library, Undergraduate Education, University Technology Services, E-learning & Instructional Support and Classroom Support & Instructional Technical Services.

Academic Human Resources is currently working on updating the documents that were previously available on this website. Please contact the AHR office by email at AHR@Oakland.edu for any required documents.

Teri Abbo
Budget & IT Procurement Manager
University Technology Services
abbo@oakland.edu

Donna Austin
Office Assistant III
Classroom Support/Tech Services
austin@oakland.edu

Roberta Badgley
SBA Budget Manager
Business Administration
badgley@oakland.edu

Janice Baker
Financial Analyst/Business Mgr
Arts & Sciences
jmbaker@oakland.edu

Paul Battle
Associate Registrar
Registrar
battle@oakland.edu

Peggy Cooke
AVP, Academic Affairs
Academic Affairs
cooke@oakland.edu

Lori Crose
Director of Operations & Development for CECE
Strategic Programs
llcrose@oakland.edu

Laura Culbert
Assistant Dean
Arts & Sciences
culbert@oakland.edu

Beth Dawson
Financial Analyst
Arts & Sciences
badawson@oakland.edu

Leigh Dzwik
Assistant Dean
Education & Human Services
settlemo@oakland.edu

Maria Ebner-Smith
Assistant Dean
Health Sciences
ebnersmi@oakland.edu

Dorothy Farrior
Office Assistant III
E-Learning & Instructional Support
farrior@oakland.edu

Keith Harvey
SECS Budget Manager
Engineering & Computer Science
harvey@oakland.edu

Kenyettera Junior
Business Manager/Financial Analyst
Nursing
junior@oakland.edu

Linda Kreger
Assistant Dean/Business Manager
Library
kreger@oakland.edu

Shamon Murdock
Business Manager & Grant Officer
The Research Office
smurdock@oakland.edu

Deirdre Pitts
Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development
School of Medicine
pitts@oakland.edu

Irene Shabazz
Undergrad Curriculum Services Manager
Office of the Senior Assoc Provost
shabazz@oakland.edu

Barbara Smith
Financial Analyst
Academic Affairs
bssmith@oakland.edu

Honorary Degree Selection Committee

The Senate Honorary Degree Committee is comprised of six faculty members, one graduate student, and the Vice-President for Academic Affairs (or designee), ex-officio, who serves as chair. The committee is charged with considering nominations of candidates for honorary degrees and to make recommendations to the President, who, in turn, presents the Board of Trustees with candidates for consideration and approval.

View the current Committee members. Please scroll down and click on the Honorary Degree header.

Academic Council

Kristin Landis-Piwowar, Ph.D. -Chair
Interim Associate Provost for Quality Assurance and Accreditation 
landispi@oakland.edu 
248-370-2190

Judith Ableser 
Director, Center of Excellence in Teaching & Learning
200D Elliott Hall
248-370-2455 
ableser@oakland.edu

Amy Banes-Berceli 
Interim Associate Provost for Operations
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2190
banesber@oakland.edu

Carrie Buch
Associate Dean, School of Nursing 
3010 Human Health Building
248-364-8716 
buch@oakland.edu

Andrea Buford 
Director of Sponsored Programs, Office of Research Administration 
501 Wilson Hall
248-370-3789
abuford@oakland.edu

Peggy Cooke 
AVP, Academic Affairs 
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2197 
cooke@oakland.edu

Lori Crose 
Director, Strategic Programs/Continuing Education 
440J Pawley Hall
248-370-4861 
llcrose@oakland.edu

Joi Cunningham
AVP, Academic Human Resources, Academic Affairs 
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2190
cunning3@oakland.edu

Leigh Dzwik 
Assistant Dean, Education & Human Services 
415 Pawley Hall
248-370-2612 
settlemo@oakland.edu

Cindy Hermsen 
Director, Financial Aid 
120 North Foundation Hall
248-370-2550 
hermsen@oakland.edu

Mariela Hristova
Associate Dean, University Libraries 
300 Kresge Library
248-370-2464
hristova@oakland.edu

Stephanie Lee 
Administrative Associate, Academic Affairs  
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2190
lincoln@oakland.edu

Shane Lewis 
Director, Admissions 
101 North Foundation Hall
248-370-4431
splewis@oakland.edu

Robert McAuley 
Associate Dean, School of Medicine 
216H O’Dowd 
248-370-3635
mcauley@oakland.edu

Douglas McCartney 
Executive Director, CSITS 
Wilson Hall
248-370-2967 
dmccartney@oakland.edu

Michael MacDonald 
Associate Dean, School of Education & Human Services 
485E Pawley Hall
248-370-2629 
mmacdona@oakland.edu

Krista Malley 
Director for Student Success & Experiential Learning Center
157 North Foundation Hall
248-370-4482 
khmalley@oakland.edu

Rosemary Max 
Executive Director, Global Engagement, Academic Affairs
328 O'Dowd Hall
248-370-4730 
rmax@oakland.edu

Shaun Moore 
Director, E-Learning & Instructional Support 
430F Kresge Library
248-370-4414 
samoore@oakland.edu

Nivedita Mukherji 
Interim Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2190 
mukherji@oakland.edu

Claire Rammel 
Exec Dir, Grad Study & Lifelong Learning 
525 O’Dowd Hall
248-370-4156 
rammel@oakland.edu

Joseph Shively
Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences 
308 Varner
248-370-2287 
shively@oakland.edu

Lori Tirpak 
Interim Chief Information Officer, UTS 
221 Dodge Hall
248-370-3158 
tirpak@oakland.edu

Amy Tully 
Interim Associate Provost for Student Success
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2190
amytully@oakland.edu

Tricia Westergaard
Registrar
100 O'Dowd Hall
248-370-4585
westerga@oakland.edu

Sherry Wynn Perdue
Director, Writing Center
212 Kresge Library
248-370-2105
wynn@oakland.edu

Song Yan
Director, Institutional Research & Assessment
513 Wilson Hall
248-370-2387
songyan@oakland.edu

Qian (Beth) Zou
Associate Dean, School of Engineering & Computer Science
301D Engineering Center
248-370-2271
qzou@oakland.edu

Deans Council

Britt Rios-Ellis, Ph.D
Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2193
riosellis@oakland.edu

Brandy Randall, Ph.D
Dean
Graduate Education
520 O'Dowd Hall
248-370-3169
brandall@oakland.edu

Kevin Ball, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Health Sciences
3117 Human Health Building
248-370-8673
kevinball@oakland.edu

Polly Boruff-Jones, Ph.D.
Dean
University Libraries
300 Kresge Library
248-370-2459
boruffjones@oakland.edu

Louay Chamra, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Engineering & Computer Science
301 Engineering Center
248-370-2217
chamra@oakland.edu

Elaine Carey, Ph.D.
Dean
College of Arts and Sciences
217 Varner Hall
248-370-2140
ecarey@oakland.edu

Judy Didion, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Nursing
3001 Human Health Building
248-364-8787
jdidion@oakland.edu

Graeme Harper, Ph.D.
Dean
Honors College
210 Oak View Hall
248-370-4450
gharper@oakland.edu

Jon Margerum-Leys, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Education & Human Services
415C Pawley Hall
248-370-3087
jmargerumleys@oakland.edu

Michael A. Mazzeo, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Business Administration
427A Elliott Hall
248-370-2957
mazzeo@oakland.edu

Duane Mezwa, M.D.
Dean
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
480 O'Dowd Hall
248-370-3634
mezwa@oakland.edu

The Provost Council

The Provost Council includes all administration from Academic Affairs and representatives from all units. They meet monthly to discuss academic issues and planning.

Britt Rios-Ellis, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
205 Wilson Hall
248-370-2193
riosellis@oakland.edu

Mohamed Al-Shabrawey, Ph.D.
Director, Eye Research Institue

Kevin Ball, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Health Sciences
3117 Human Health Building
248-370-8673
kevinball@oakland.edu

Amy Banes-Berceli, Ph.D.
Interim Associate Provost
banesber@oakland.edu 
(248) 370-2190 

Polly Boruff-Jones, Ph.D.
Dean
University Libraries
300 Kresge Library
248-370-2459
boruffjones@oakland.edu

Elaine Carey, Ph.D.
Dean
College of Arts and Sciences
217 Varner Hall
248-370-2140
ecarey@oakland.edu

Louay Chamra, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Engineering & Computer Science
301 Engineering Center
248-370-2217
chamra@oakland.edu

Peggy Cooke
Assistant Vice President
cooke@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2192

Joi Cunningham, J.D.
Assistant Vice President, Academic Human Resources
cunning3@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2190

Julie Dichtel, Ed.D.
Executive Director, Macomb County Outreach
(248) 370-3910
dichtel@oakland.edu

Judy Didion, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Nursing
3001 Human Health Building
248-364-8787
jdidion@oakland.edu

Graeme Harper, Ph.D.
Dean
Honors College
210 Oak View Hall
248-370-4450
gharper@oakland.edu

Kristin Landis-Piwowar, Ph.D.
Interim Associate Provost for Quality Assurance and Accreditation 
landispi@oakland.edu 
248-370-2190

Stephanie J. Lee, Ed.D.
Administrative Associate
lincoln@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2190

Jon Margerum-Leys, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Education & Human Services
415C Pawley Hall
248-370-3087
jmargerumleys@oakland.edu

Michael A. Mazzeo, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Business Administration
427A Elliott Hall
248-370-2957
mazzeo@oakland.edu

Duane Mezwa, M.D.
Dean
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
480 O'Dowd Hall
248-370-3634
mezwa@oakland.edu

Nivedita Mukherji, Ph.D.
Interim Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
mukherji@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2190 

Brandy Randall, Ph.D.
Dean
Graduate Education
520 O'Dowd Hall
248-370-3169
brandall@oakland.edu

David Stone, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research
dstone@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2762

Amy Tully, D.M.A.
Interim Associate Provost for Student Success 
amytully@oakland.edu
248-370-2190

Song Yan, Ph.D.
Director of Institutional Research
songyan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2387

Commencement Steering Committee

The Commencement Steering Committee, with the support of Academic Affairs, is responsible for the planning and execution of Oakland University Commencement ceremonies, held in both the spring and fall.