Mobile Navigation Menu Icon. 3 horizontal gold bars.

School of Music, Theatre
and Dance

Varner Hall, Room 207
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
Academic Office: (248) 370-2030
Box Office: (248) 370-3013
Fax: (248) 370-2041
smtd@oakland.edu

School of Music, Theatre
and Dance

Varner Hall, Room 207
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
Academic Office: (248) 370-2030
Box Office: (248) 370-3013
Fax: (248) 370-2041
smtd@oakland.edu

Faculty and Staff

The School of Music, Theatre and Dance has a world-class faculty of actors, choreographers, composers, conductors, dancers, designers, directors, instrumentalists, scholars, singers and more. While the work of our faculty in the performing arts is wide-ranging, they all share a singular commitment to teaching and mentoring students. In collaboration with our faculty, students are transformed through experiences in the classroom, rehearsal space, practice room, studio and beyond.

SMTD Administration
Academic Leaders
Joe Shively, Ed.D.Interim Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Interim Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor of Music
shively@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2287
Kerro Knox 3, M.F.A.Associate Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Associate Professor of Theatre
knox@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3025
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Chair, Department of Music
Associate Professor of Music 
vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022
Anthony Guest, M.F.A.Chair, Department of Theatre
Associate Professor of Theatre
aguest@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3023
Gregory Patterson, M.F.A.Chair, Department of Dance
Associate Professor of Dance
patterso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3009
Office Staff
Jaime FinnOffice Assistant IIIfinn@oakland.edu 
(248) 370-2035
Manjit GillBudget Managergill@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2046
Elizabeth MedvinskyOU Community Music Directoreawiggin@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2034
Danny DeRoseRecruitment and Outreach Managerderose@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2039
Leah RuffOffice Assistant IIlruff@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2033
Carly UhrigMarketing Manageruhrig@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2032
Production Staff
Joseph BeckTechnical Directorjbeck@oakland.edu 
Katherine BoersmaProduction and Facilities Managerkeboersm@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3012
Jenna Fiorini Production Office Assistant jkfiorin@oakland.edu 
Megan HeraldAssistant Production and Facilities Manager meherald@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3012
Terry HeraldTechnical Coordinator, Sound Technician herald@oakland.edu 
Christy HeussnerCostume Shop Assistant heussner@oakland.edu 
Christa Koerner Costume Shop Supervisorkoerner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3011
Chad RasorAssistant Technical Director 
Clayton SalleeBox Office Managercsallee@startickets.com
Collaborative Pianists
Laura BlanchardCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrelblanchard@oakland.edu
Vladimir KalmskyCollaborative Pianist for Dancekalmsky@oakland.edu
Jennifer GosselinCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voice
Alissa HetznerCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrehetzner@oakland.edu
Hyekyung LeeCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicehyekyunglee@oakland.edu
Mike ListCollaborative Pianist for Dance
Michael McCabeCollaborative Pianist for Dance
Cat MenziesCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrecmenzies@oakland.edu
Rudolf OzolinsCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Amanda Sabelhaus Collaborative Pianist accompanying Voicesabelhau@oakland.edu
Michael ShimminCollaborative Pianist for Dance
Julie SteinmayerCollaborative Pianist for Choral programstaplema@oakland.edu
I-Chen YehCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
Eun Young YooCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voiceyoo@oakland.edu
Tatyana ZutCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicezut@oakland.edu
Stanley J. ZydekCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voice
Coordinator of Vocal Accompanying
zydek@oakland.edu
Undergraduate Advisors
Jim BilinskiUndergraduate Academic Advisor
Matt PrenticeUndergraduate Academic Advisormwprenti@oakland.edu
Music Ensemble Staff
Joan HovdaOrchestra Librarian, OSO
Sherri MartillaOrchestra Manager, OSO
Michele SorokaOrchestra Management Assistantmrsoroka@oakland.edu
Department of Music
Name Title Contact Information
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music
Chair, Department of Music
Music Education Program Coordinator
vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022 
Amanda Blaikie, M.M.DSO Affiliate Applied Instructor, Flute blaikie@oakland.edu
Laura Blanchard, M.M.Lecturer, Musiclblanchard@oakland.edu
Barbara Bland, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice blbland@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4309
Alta Marie Boover, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Music
Applied Voice
altadantzler@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2943
Anthony BuccilliJazz Trombone
Regina CarterArtist-in-Residence, Jazz 
Jennifer Kincer Catallo, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music Educationkincerca@oakland.edu
Jeremy Crosmer, D.M.A.DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Cellocrosmer@oakland.edu
Gregory Cunningham, Ed. D.Professor of Music
Instrumental Conducting
Instrumental Program Coordinator
cunningh@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3015
Dennis Curry, M.M.Applied Instructor, Carillon dncurry@oakland.edu
Drake Dantzler, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Voice
Opera Program Coordinator
dantzler@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2042
David Denniston, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Horndennisto@oakland.edu
Edith Diggory, D.M.A.Adjunct Assistant Professor, Voicediggory@oakland.edu 
(248) 370-3019
Sean Dobbins, B.M.Applied Instructor, Jazz Percussion
Lecturer, Music
dobbins@oakland.edu
Stephen Eisenhard, B.M.Applied Instructor, Voice
Lecturer, Opera Workshop
eisenhard@oakland.edu 
Patrick Fitzgibbon, M.M.Lecturer, Music
World Music
pwfitzgi@oakland.edu
Ben Fuhrman, D.M.A.Lecturer, Music
Music Technology and Composition
bfuhrman@oakland.edu
Scott Gwinnell, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Applied Instructor, Jazz Piano
gwinnell@oakland.edu
Rebecca Happel, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Piano
Lecturer, Music
happel@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4152
Jeffrey Heisler, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Saxophone
jaheisle@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2871
Terry Herald, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Audio Technology
herald@oakland.edu
Travis HigaBandthiga@oakland.edu
Bret Hoag, M.M.Applied Instructor, Guitar
Special Lecturer, Music
hoag2@oakland.edu
Melissa Hoag, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Musica
Music Theory Program Coordinatorrdinator
hoag@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4153
Lauri A. Hogle, Ph.D.Visiting Assistant Professor of Music
Music Education
laurihogle@oakland.edu
248-370-2763
Sam JeyasingamApplied Instructor, Carnatic Percussionjeyasing@oakland.edu
Lois Kaarre, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music
Keyboard Classes
kaarre@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2913
David Kidger, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music, Musicology
Music History Program Co-Coordinator
kidger@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4308
Mark KiemeApplied Instructor, Jazz Saxophonekieme@oakland.edu
Roman KosarevApplied Instructor, Violakosarev@oakland.edu
Kenneth Kroesche, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Brass, Brass Band and Ensembles
Brass Program Coordinator
kroesche@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4303
James P. Lentini, D.M.A. Professor of Music
Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Provost 
jlentini@oakland.edu 
Alan MacNair, M.A.Lecturer, Music 
Chamber Orchestra
macnair@oakland.edu
Melissa Maloney, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice maloney@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2943
Dan Maslanka, M.M.Applied Instructor, Percussion
Lecturer, Music
maslanka@oakland.edu 
Timothy Michling, M.M. M.P.A.Applied Instructor, Oboe michling@oakland.edu 
Zelijko (Bill) Milicevic, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Strings Pedagogy
milicevi@oakland.edu 
Stephanie Michaels, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice 
Lecturer, Music
michaels@oakland.edu
Michael Mitchell, D.M.A Doris & Paul Travis Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities
mmitchel@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2002
Stephen MolinaDSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Classical Bass
Christopher Napier, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Brass Techniques
napier@oakland.edu
Jessica Payette, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music, Musicology 
Master's Program Coordinator
Music History Program Co-Coordinator
payette@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3148
Elizabeth Rowin, M.M.Applied Instructor, Violin
Chamber Music
rowin@oakland.edu 
Marcus Schoon, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Bassoon
Lecturer, Music
Woodwind Techniques
schoon@oakland.edu 
Joseph Shively, Ed.D.Associate Professor of Music Education
Doctoral Program Coordinator
shively@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2287
Victoria Shively, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music 
Music Theory and History, Opera Coach
shively2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3321
Gordon Simmons Applied Instructor, Trumpet gsimmons@oakland.edu
Michele Soroka, M.M. Special Lecturer, Music 
Music Theory
mrsoroka@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2039
Sharon Sparrow, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Flute sparrow@oakland.edu
Anthony Stanco, M.M.Applied Instructor, Jazz Trumpet 
George Stoffan, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Clarinet, Chamber Music
Coordinator, Wind Program, Strings Program
stoffan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2038
Mark Stone, M.M.Associate Professor of Music
World Percussion Performance
Coordinator, World Music & Percussion
stone@oakland.edu 
Kristen Tait, D.M.A. Special Lecturer, Music
Music for the Non-Major
tait@oakland.edu
Jeremy Tarrant, M.M.Applied Instructor, Organtarrant@oakland.edu 
Tian Tian, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Piano Performance and Pedagogy
ttian@oakland.edu
Carly Uhrig, M.A. Lecturer, Music
Foundations of Rock 
uhrig@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2032
Nadine Washington, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice (248) 370-2038 
John-Paul White, Perf. Cert. Professor of Music
Voice Program Coordinator
jpwhite@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2040
Phyllis White, Ph.D.Special Lecturer, Music 
Music for the Non-Major
pwhite@oakland.edu 
Jackie Wiggins, Ed. D.Distinguished Professor of Music Educationjwiggins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2030
Spiros Xydas, Ph.D.Lecturer, Music 
Instrumental Music Education
sdxydas@oakland.edu 
I-Chen Yeh, D.M.A. Applied Instructor, Piano
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
Jeffery Zook, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Flute zook@oakland.edu 
Collaborative Pianists
Hyekyung LeeCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicehyekyunglee@oakland.edu
Rudolf OzolinsCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Amanda SabelhausCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicesabelhau@oakland.edu
Julie SteinmayerCollaborative Pianist for Choral programstaplema@oakland.edu
I-Chen YehCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
Eun Young YooCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voiceyoo@oakland.edu
Tatyana ZutCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voicezut@oakland.edu
Stanley J. ZydekCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voice
Coordinator of Vocal Accompanying
zydek@oakland.edu
Opera Production Support
Joseph BeckSet Constructionjbeck@oakland.edu
Jeremy BarnettSet Designbarnett@oakland.edu
Kerro Knox 3Lighting Designknox@oakland.edu
Christa KoernerCostume Constructionkoerner@oakland.edu
OU Community Music
Elizabeth Medvinsky, M.M.Directoreawiggin@oakland.edu
Department of Theatre
Name Title Contact Information
Anthony Guest, M.F.A.Chair, Department of Theatre
Associate Professor of Theatre
Acting, Directing 
aguest@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3023
Jeremy Barnett, M.F.A.Associate Professor of Theatre
Theatre Design and Technology Program Coordinator
Scenic Design
barnett@oakland.edu
(781) 910-7759
Joseph Beck, M.F.A.Technical Director
Lecturer, Theatre
Stagecraft
jbeck@oakland.edu
Laura BlanchardVocal coach
Collaborative Pianist for Musical Theatre
lblanchard@oakland.edu
Don Brewer, B.F.A.Visiting Assistant Professor of Theatredbrewer@oakland.edu
Rick Carver, B.A.Lecturer, Theatre 
Acting, Mime
carver@oakland.edu 
Jamie ClausiusLecturer, Theatre
Kitty Dubin, M.A.Lecturer, Theatre
Playwriting
dubin@oakland.edu
Michael DuncanLecturer, Theatre
Sound Design
duncan24@oakland.edu
Dana Gamarra, B.F.A. Lecturer, Theatre
Stage Management
danagamarra@oakland.edu 
Milica Govich, M.F.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre
Acting Coach
Acting for the Camera
vukasovi@oakland.edu 
David Gram, M.F.A.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting, Directing
dgram@oakland.edu
Beth Guest, M.F.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre 
Musical Theatre History
bguest@oakland.edu
Alissa HetznerVocal Coach
Collaborative Pianist for Musical Theatre
hetzner@oakland.edu
Christy HeussnerCostume Shop Assistant
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction 
heussner@oakland.edu
Jake Hooker, MPhilSpecial Lecturer, Theatre
Theatre History, Directing
hooker@oakland.edu
Christa Koerner, M.F.A.Costume Shop Supervisor
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction
koerner@oakland.edu
Kerro Knox 3, M.F.A. Associate Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Doris & Paul Travis Associate Professor of Theatre

Lighting Design, History
knox@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3025
Lynnae Lehfeldt, M.F.A. Associate Professor of Theatre 
Stage Voice, Acting
lehfeld2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2956
Leslie Littell, M.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Design
littell@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4577
Fred Love, M.M.Associate Professor of Theatre
Musical Theatre Program Coordinator
Musical Theatre

love2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3010

Thomas Mahard, B.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre 
Theatre for Non-Majors
mahard@oakland.edu 
Cat Menzies, B.M.Vocal Coach
Collaborative Pianist for Musical Theatre
cmenzies@oakland.edu
Chad RasorAssistant Technical Director
Karen Sheridan, M.F.A. Professor of Theatre
Acting Program Coordinator
Acting, Directing
sheridan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2045 
Sara WolfLecturer, Theatrescwolf@oakland.edu
Department of Dance
NameTitle Contact Information 
Gregory Patterson, M.F.A.Chair, Department of Dance
Associate Professor of Dance
Artistic Director, Patterson Rhythm Pace
patterso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3009
Debi Bernstein-Siegel, M.A. Lecturer, Dance 
Dance for Non-Majors
siegel@oakland.edu 
Rebecca Crimmins, B.A.Lecturer, Dance
Tap 
crimmins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3024
Jennifer Harge, M.F.A.Lecturer, Dance
Modern, Choreography
 jenniferharge@oakland.edu
Thayer Jonutz, M.F.A.Doris & Paul Travis Associate Professor of Dance
Director, OU Repertory Dance Company
Co-Director/Co-Founder of Take Root
jonutz@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2804
Elizabeth Kattner, Ph.D.Assistant Professor of Dance
Dance History and Dance in Culture
Dance Education Program Coordinator
kattneru@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2917
Amanda LehmanLecturer, Dance
Dance for Musical Theatre
alehman@oakland.edu
Roberta Lucas, M.A.Special Lecturer in Dance Education rlucas@oakland.edu
Teresa MullerLecturer, Dance
Stephanie Pizzo, B.A. Special Lecturer in Dance
Artistic Director, Eisenhower Dance 
pizzo@oakland.edu
Liz Riga, M.F.A.Lecturer, Danceelizabethriga@oakland.edu
Christina Tasco Special Lecturer in Dance 
Director, Oakland Dance Theatre
tasco@oakland.edu 
Ali Woerner, M.F.A. Associate Professor of Dance
Co-Director/Co-Founder of Take Root
woerner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3604
Production Staff
Jeremy BarnettSet Designbarnett@oakland.edu
Joseph BeckSet Construction jbeck@oakland.edu
Kerro KnoxLighting Designknox@oakland.edu
Christa KoernerCostume Constructionkoerner@oakland.edu
Dance Accompanists
Vladimir KalmskyAccompanist for Dancekalmsky@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2049
Mike ListAccompanist for Dance
Michael McCabeAccompanist for Dancempmccabe@oakland.edu
Michael ShimminAccompanist for Dance (Percussion)shimmin@oakland.edu
OU Community Music
NameExpertiseContact Information 
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Chair, Department of Music vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022
Elizabeth Medvinsky, M.M. Director, OU Community Music
Voice 
eawiggin@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2034
Barbara Bland, M.M.Voice
Alexander Technique
bbland@oakland.edu
Viorica Burca, M.M.Pianovburca@oakland.edu 
Daniel ByingtonGuitardbyington@oakland.edu
Sarah CarlsonLowry Early Childhoodsncarlson@oakland.edu
Jeremy Crosmer, D.M.A.Cellocrosmer@oakland.edu
Yevgenya Derian, M.M.Piano yderian@oakland.edu
Patrick Fitzgibbon, M.M.Percussion pwfitzgi@oakland.edu 
Ben Fuhrman, D.M.A.Composition and Music Technologybfuhrman@oakland.edu
Melanie Godo, B.M. Flute mmboose@oakland.edu 
Laurie Gunn, M.M.Violindlgunn@oakland.edu
Bret Hoag, M.M. Guitar hoag2@oakland.edu
Sunkyeung Hong, M.M. Piano hsunkyeu@oakland.edu
Laura Kellogg, D.M.A.Flutelaurakellogg@oakland.edu 
Shinko Kondo, Ph.D.Pianoskondo2@oakland.edu
Hyekyung Lee, D.M.A.Pianohyekyunglee@oakland.edu
Kim Louden, B.M. Voice kslozon@oakland.edu
Dan Maslanka, M.M.Percussion maslanka@oakland.edu
Maggie McKelvey, B.M.Pianommmckelvey@oakland.edu
Lauren (Doucet) Munaco, M.M.Voicelbdoucet@oakland.edu
Leslie Naeve, M.M. Voice lanaeve@oakland.edu
Chris Napier, M.M. Trumpet napier@oakland.edu
David Pendock, M.M.Bassoonpendock@oakland.edu
Milan PuscasCellomxpuscas@oakland.edu
Hannah RobertsFlutehroberts@oakland.edu
Nicole Shogren, M.M. Cello shogren@oakland.edu 
Michele Soroka, M.M.Theorymrsoroka@oakland.edu
George Stoffan, D.M.A. Clarinet stoffan@oakland.edu 
Judith A. Teasdle, M.M.Violin/Viola teasdle@oakland.edu 
Riste Tevdoski, B.M.Clarinetrtevdoski@oakland.edu
Stephanie ThompsonPianosthompson4@oakland.edu
Chris Wheeler, M.M.Oboemusprep@oakland.edu 
Eun Young Yoo, M.M.Pianoyoo@oakland.edu
Jocelyn Zelasko, M.M.Voicejmfekel@oakland.edu
Faculty Advisers
ProgramNameEmail
Jazz StudiesMark Stonestone@oakland.edu
 World Music StudiesMark Stonestone@oakland.edu
BAMusicMelissa Hoag, Jessica Payette, Mark Stonehoag@oakland.edu, payette@oakland.edu, stone@oakland.edu
Instrumental PerformanceJeff Heisler, Ken Kroesche, George Stoffanjaheisle@oakland.edu, kroesche@oakland.edu, stoffan@oakland.edu
BMPiano Performance and PedagogyTian Tianttian@oakland.edu
BMVoice PerformanceJohn-Paul White, Drake Dantzlerjpwhite@oakland.edu, dantzler@oakland.edu
BMChoral Music EducationMike Mitchell, Deb VanderLindemmitchel@oakland.edu, vanderlinde@oakland.edu
BMInstrumental Music EducationJoe Shivelyshively@oakland.edu
BMGeneral Music EducationDeb VanderLindevanderlinde@oakland.edu
MMChoral ConductingMike Mitchellmmitchel@oakland.edu
MMInstrumental ConductingGreg Cunninghamcunningh@oakland.edu
MMInstrumental PerformanceJeff Heisler, Ken Kroesche, George Stoffanjaheisle@oakland.edu, kroesche@oakland.edu, stoffan@oakland.edu
MMPiano Performance & Piano PedagogyTian Tianttian@oakland.edu
MMVoice Performance & Vocal PedagogyDrake Dantzler, John-Paul Whitedantzler@oakland.edu, jpwhite@oakland.edu
MMWorld Music PerformanceMark Stonestone@oakland.edu
MMMusic EducationJoe Shively, Deb VanderLindeshively@oakland.edu, vanderlinde@oakland.edu
PhDMusic EducationJoe Shively (Wiggins, W18)shively@oakland.edu, jwiggins@oakland.edu
minorsTheatreKaren SheridanSheridan@oakland.edu
transfersTheatreDavid Gram (for BA and BFA acting students)dgram@oakland.edu
BATheatreLynnae Lehfeldtlehfeldt@oakland.edu
BFAActingTony Guest (David Gram cover W18)aguest@oakland.edu, dgram@oakland.edu
BFAMusical TheatreKerro Knoxknox@oakland.edu
BFATheatre Design & TechnologyJeremy Barnett barnett@oakland.edu
BA, BFA, & minorsDance and Dance EducationLiz Kattner, Greg Patterson, Thayer Jonutz, Ali Woernerkattneru@oakland.edu, patterso@oakland.edu, jonutz@oakland.edu, woerner@oakland.edu
Emeriti
David DanielsProfessor Emeritus of Music
John DovarasProfessor Emeritus of Music
Laurie EisenhowerProfessor Emerita of Dance
Robert FackoProfessor Emeritus of Music
Michael GillespieProfessor Emeritus of Theatre
Adeline G. Hirschfeld-MedaliaProfessor Emerita of Theatre
Marvin D. HolladayProfessor Emeritus of Music
Flavio VaraniProfessor Emeritus of Music