Department of Philosophy

Mathematics and Science Center, Room 752
146 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
(248) 370-3390
fax: (248) 370-3157

A man in his office

Philosophy Faculty/Staff Directory

Oakland University’s thriving Philosophy programs are upheld by exemplary faculty and staff. For specific contact information, view the profiles below.

Staff

Ann Zimmerman
Administrative Secretary
Office: 752 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3390
Fax: (248) 370-3144
zimmerm2@oakland.edu

Full-Time Faculty

Michael Doan
Associate Professor
Social Epistemology, Social and Political Philosophy, Moral Psychology
Office: 650 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3391
doan@oakland.edu

August Gorman
Assistant Professor
Ethics (especially Moral Responsibility and Agency), Disability-Informed Bioethics, Philosophy of Death
Office: 646 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2163
agorman@oakland.edu

Paul R. Graves
Associate Professor
History of Modern Western Philosophy (especially Locke), Symbolic Logic, Philosophy of Language
Office: 651 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3393
graves@oakland.edu

John F. Halpin
Associate Professor
thelogiccafe.net
Philosophy of Science, Logic
halpin@oakland.edu

Ami Harbin
Associate Professor
Feminist Philosophy, Bioethics, Moral Psychology
Office: 644 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3301
aharbin@oakland.edu

Timothy Kirschenheiter
Visiting Assistant Professor 
Ethics, Bioethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion
Office: 750 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2264
kirschenheiter@oakland.edu

Elysa Koppelman-White
Associate Professor
Ethics, Research Ethics, Bioethics, Professional Ethics (e.g., Engineering Ethics)
Office: 652 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3395
koppelma@oakland.edu

Eric LaRock
Associate Professor
Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Neuroscience (especially consciousness), Metaphysics, Ancient Philosophy (especially Aristotle)
Office: 751 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-4902
larock@oakland.edu
personal website

Fritz J. McDonald
Associate Professor
Metaethics
Office: 653 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3394
mcdonal4@oakland.edu

Mark C. Navin
Professor and Chair
Bioethics (especially Clinical Ethics and Public Health Ethics), Social and Political Philosophy
Office: 746 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2716
navin@oakland.edu

Daniel Propson
Assistant Professor of Practice
Ancient Philosophy, Plato, Engineering Ethics, Philosophy of Religion
Office: 648 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3557
propson@oakland.edu

Mark Rigstad
Associate Professor 
JustWarTheory.com
Political Philosophy, Philosophy of International Relations, Philosophy of Law, History of Ethical and Political Thought (especially Early Modern)
Office: 753 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2662
rigstad@oakland.edu

Phyllis Rooney
Professor
Feminist Philosophy, Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Logic
Office: 748 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3392
rooney@oakland.edu

David A. Stone
Chief Research Officer
Philosophy of Natural and Social Science, Technology, and Medicine; Ethics
Office: The Research Office
dstone@oakland.edu

Ben White
Special Instructor
Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind
Office: 654 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-3145
bgwhite@oakland.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Joshua Blanchard
Special Lecturer
Office: 642 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2705
jblanchard@oakland.edu

Lisa Campbell
Special Lecturer
Ethics Bowl
Office: 642 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2705
llcampbe@oakland.edu

Carmen Fosner
Lecturer
Office: 642 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2705
fosner@oakland.edu

James (Alex) Gromak
Lecturer
Office: 642 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2705
jgromak@oakland.edu

Drew A. Matzke
Special Lecturer
Office: 642 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2705
damatzke@oakland.edu

Daniel Yeakel
Special Lecturer
Logic, Epistemology
Office: 642 Mathematics and Science Center
Phone: (248) 370-2705
yeakel@oakland.edu

Philosophy Faculty Emeritus

David C. Bricker
Ethics, Political Philosophy, and Philosophy of Law
brickerscd@yahoo.com