Department of Psychology

Pryale Hall, Room 111
654 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2300
Fax: (248) 370-4612

 A professor standing in front of a chalk board with writing that says "P T G Lab".

Meet the Faculty and Staff

Our faculty are passionate about the field of psychology and the success of our students. Renowned in their area of expertise, our faculty are researchers, educators and life-long learners.

Full time Faculty

Photo Not Available
Arcediano, Francisco (Pako)
Visiting Assistant Professor
arcediano@oakland.edu
Office: 202 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-4612

Photo Not Available
Escobar, Martha
Professor
marthaescobar@oakland.edu Office: 124 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2303

Evolutionary; animal models of psychological dysfunction

A headshot of Andrea Kozak.
Kozak, Andrea
Associate Professor
kozak@oakland.edu
Office: 210 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2319

Clinical Health; cardiovascular health

A headshot of Mary Lewis.
Lewis, Mary. B. Eberly
Associate Professor
eberly@oakland.edu
Office: 208 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2314

Developmental; adolescent pro-social behavior

Rebecca Malatesta
Malatesta, Rebecca
Special Instructor
malatest@oakland.edu
Office: 107 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2693

Psychology Student Success Coordinator/Chief Adviser

Industrial/Organizational

Mark Manning
Manning, Mark
Assistant Professor
markmanning@oakland.edu
Office: 202 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2343

Social Health; preventative health behaviors

A headshot of Melissa McDonald.
McDonald, Melissa M.
Associate Professor
mmmcdonald@oakland.edu
Office: 204 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-4195

Evolutionary; intergroup conflict

A headshot of Deb McGinnis outside.
McGinnis, Deb
Associate Professor
mcginnis@oakland.edu
Office: 119 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2310

Developmental; language and aging

A headshot of Dean Purcell.
Purcell, Dean
Professor
purcell@oakland.edu
Office: 220 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2305

Perception; visual perception

A headshot of Michele Parkhill Purdie.
Parkhill Purdie, Michele
Associate Professor
parkhill@oakland.edu
Office: 137 Dodge Hall
Phone: (248) 370-3247

Social Health; violence against women and LGBTQ individuals; emotion regulation; childhood trauma

Photo Not Available
Randall, Brandy A.
Professor and Dean of Graduate School
brandall@oakland.edu
Office: 520 O’Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-3169

Photo Not Available
Raman, Lakshmi
Associate Professor
raman@oakland.edu
Office: 122 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2302

Developmental; children’s cognitive development

A headshot of Todd Shackelford.
Shackelford, Todd K.
Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychology
shackelf@oakland.edu
Office: 112 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2285

Evolutionary; sperm competition, religion, and sexual coercion

A headshot of Cindy Sifonis.
Sifonis, Cynthia
Associate Professor
sifonis@oakland.edu
Office: 222 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-4680

Cognitive; Creative learning, creativity, analogy

A headshot of Kanako Taku.
Taku, Kanako
Professor
taku@oakland.edu
Office: 123 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2309

Social; post-traumatic growth

A black and white headshot of Jennifer Vonk.
Vonk, Jennifer
Professor
vonk@oakland.edu
Office: 211 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2318

Comparative; animal cognition and cognitive development

A headshot of Lisa Welling.
Welling, Lisa
Associate Professor
welling@oakland.edu
Office: 212 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2915

Evolutionary; hormones and behavior

A headshot of Keith Williams.
Williams, Keith
Associate Professor
william9@oakland.edu
Office: 224 Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2308

Biopsychology; addiction and pharmacology

A headshot of Virgil Zeigler-Hill.
Zeigler-Hill, Virgil
Professor
zeiglerh@oakland.edu
Office: 212A Pryale Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2676

Personality; self-esteem, narcissism, and interpersonal relationships

Adjunct Faculty

Photo Not Available

Arcediano, Francisco
arcediano@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Bergeron, Nicholas
nbergeron@oakland.edu

A headshot of Paul Bernstein.

Bernstein, Paul
bernstein@oakland.edu

A headshot of Adrian Camden.

Camden, Adrian
acamden@oakland.edu

A headshot of Viviana Weekes-Shackelford.

Weekes-Shackelford, Viviana
weekessh@oakland.edu

Graduate Students
Akinseye, Abiodun 
aakinseye@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor: Manning

Benton, Bridget
bnbenton@oakland.edu
Program: MS
Advisor: Vonk

Edge, Jared
jarededge@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor: Vonk

Elam, Taylor
elam@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor: Taku

Greene, Brittany
bdgreene@oakland.edu
Program: PhD 
Advisor: Vonk

Gross, Robert
robertgross@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor: Vonk

Hicks, Paxton 
phicks2@oakland.edu
Program: BA/MS
Advisor: Taku

Holler, Richard 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Welling

Hunt, Kaylynn 
Program: BA/MS
Advisor: Lewis

James, Rachel 
Program: PhD
Advisor: McDonald

Lunge, Jenna 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Welling

Luttrell, Lewis 
Program: MS
Advisor: Taku

Majewski, Haylee 
Program: BA/MS
Advisor: Escobar

Meehan, Madeleine 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Shackelford

Mongene, Noelle 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Purdie

Montalto, Gina 
Program: MS
Advisor: Vonk

Motzny, Samuel 
Program: MS
Advisor: McDonald

O'Connor, Victoria 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Vonk

Ott, Joy 
Advisor: Vonk

Pappas, Jacob 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Vonk

Pouncy, Michael 
Program: MS
Advisor: Zeigler-Hill

Quay, James 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Zeigler-Hill

Sauls, Destaney 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Zeigler-Hill

Schoemann, Michael 
Program: MS
Advisor: Purdie

Sheetz, Katherine 
Program: MS
Advisor: Welling

Stabile, Vincent 
Program: MS
Advisor: Shackelford

Szala, Anna
Program: PhD
Advisor: Shackelford

Taylor, Elizabeth 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Purdie

Taylor, Sean 
seantaylor@oakland.edu
Program: MS
Advisor: Purdie

Truax, Jordyn
jptruax@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor: Vonk

Vance, Gavin 
gvance@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor : Shackelford

Vrabel, Jennifer
jkvrabel@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor: Zeigler-Hill

Walquist, Emma 
emwalquist@oakland.edu
Program: MS
Advisor: McDonald

Wehbe, Yzar 
yzarwehbe@oakland.edu
Program: PhD
Advisor: Shackelford

Zheng, Wenqi 
Program: PhD
Advisor: Purdie
STAFF

Danielle Bildson

dbildson@oakland.edu

248-370-2300