Department of English

O'Dowd Hall, Room 544
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2250
fax: (248) 370-4429

A professor seated in front of a projector screen, taking and gesturing with his hands.

Meet the Faculty/Staff

The English Department faculty are expert scholars  and practitioners from nationally recognized researchers in their respective fields to award-winning  poets, playwrights, novelists, and filmmakers. Our faculty, who have received a multitude of teaching awards, create rich opportunities for students to explore and immerse themselves in the cultural, historical, and technological aspects of a variety of topics in  both theory and practice.  Please contact faculty members for more information about our academic programs, internships, events, and engagement opportunities.

English

Robert Anderson
Associate Professor & Department Chair
Office: 544D O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2266
Email: r2anders@oakland.edu

Christopher Apap
Special Lecturer
Office: 169 Dodge Hall
Email: apap@oakland.edu

Susan Lynn Beckwith
Special Lecturer
Office: 521 O'Dowd Hall
Email: beckwit2@oakland.edu

Jeff Chapman
Associate Professor & Program Director of Creative Writing
Office: 324 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2249
Email: chapman4@oakland.edu

Natalie Bell Cole
Professor
Office: 521 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2270
Email: cole@oakland.edu

Timothy Donahue
Assistant Professor
Office: 542 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2254
Email: tdonahue@oakland.edu

Kitty Dubin
Lecturer
Office: 207 Varner Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2030
Email: dubin@oakland.edu

Joanne Lipson Freed
Assistant Professor
Office: 540 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2255
Email: freed@oakland.edu

Leslie Galan
Administrative Secretary
Office: 544C O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2251
Email: lmgalan@oakland.edu

Annette Gilson
Associate Professor
Office: 348 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2262
Email: gilson@oakland.edu

Jennifer Gower-Toms
Special Lecturer
Office: 532 O'Dowd Hall
Email: gowertoms@oakland.edu

Kevin T. Grimm
Associate Professor
Office: 519 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2257
Email: grimm@oakland.edu

Niels Herold
Professor
Office: 532 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2261
Email: herold@oakland.edu

Jeffrey Insko
Professor & Coordinator of American Studies
Office: 544F O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2253
Email: insko@oakland.edu

Andrea Knutson
Associate Professor
Office: 526 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2258
Email: knutson@oakland.edu

Kevin Laam
Associate Professor
Office: 538 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2256
Email: laam@oakland.edu

Bailey McDaniel
Associate Professor
Office: 522 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2008
Email: mcdanie2@oakland.edu

Megan Peiser
Assistant Professor
Office: 530 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-4186
Email: mpeiser@oakland.edu

Rita Perris
Secretary 1
Office: 544 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2250
Email: perris@oakland.edu

Kathleen Pfeiffer
Professor
Office: 544B O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2267
Email: pfeiffer@oakland.edu

Doris Plantus
Special Lecturer
Office: 521 O'Dowd Hall
Email: plantus@oakland.edu

Rachel V. Smydra
Special Instructor
Office: 322 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2380
Email: smydra@oakland.edu

Amanda Stearns-Pfeiffer
Assistant Professor
Office: 544G O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2145
Email: stearnspfeiffer@oakland.edu

Film Studies and Production

Kevin Ball
Lecturer
Office: 169 Dodge Hall
Email: kball@oakland.edu

Kyle Edwards
Associate Professor
Office: 524 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-4118
Email: edwards2@oakland.edu

Andrea Eis
Professor
Director of Cinema Studies
Office: 528 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2987
Email: eis@oakland.edu

Adam Gould
Associate Professor
Office: 536 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2152
Email: agould@oakland.edu

Joseph Kelley
Program Assistant
Email: josephkelley@oakland.edu

Bridget Kies
Assistant Professor
Office: 123 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-3382
Email: bkies@oakland.edu

Brendan Kredell
Associate Professor
Office: 534 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2259
Email: kredell@oakland.edu

Charlie Meyers
Special Lecturer
Office: 169 Dodge Hall
Email: meyers2@oakland.edu

Justin Reifert
Assistant Professor
Office: 531 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2268
Email: reifert@oakland.edu

David Shaerf
Associate Professor
Office: 346 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2988
Email: shaerf@oakland.edu

Annie Sullivan
Assistant Professor
Office: 127 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-4131
Email: anniesullivan@oakland.edu

Kaelie Thompson
Lecturer
Office: 169 O'Dowd Hall
Email: krthomps@oakland.edu

Julia Yezbick
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: 349 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2960
Email: juliayezbick@oakland.edu

Creative Writing

Jeff Chapman
Associate Professor
Office: 324 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2249
Email: chapman4@oakland.edu

Jonathan Chappell
Special Lecturer
Office: 169 Dodge Hall
Email: jchappell@oakland.edu

Annette Gilson
Associate Professor
Director of Creative Writing
Office: 348 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2262
Email: gilson@oakland.edu

Katie Hartsock
Assistant Professor
Office: 344 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2263
Email: hartsock@oakland.edu

Peter Markus
Special Lecturer
Office: 169 Dodge Hall
Email: markus@oakland.edu

Susan McCarty
Assistant Professor
Office: 349 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2252
Email: smccarty@oakland.edu

Kathleen Pfeiffer
Professor
Office: 544B O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2267
Email: pfeiffer@oakland.edu

Alison Powell
Assistant Professor
Office: 320 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-4316
Email: powell@oakland.edu

David Shaerf
Assistant Professor
Office: 544E O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2988
Email: shaerf@oakland.edu

English With Secondary Ed

Amanda Stearns-Pfeiffer
Assistant Professor
Office: 544G O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2145
Email: stearnspfeiffer@oakland.edu

American Studies

Christopher Apap
Special Lecturer
Office: 519 O'Dowd Hall
Email: apap@oakland.edu

Jeffrey Insko
Associate Professor
Coordinator of American Studies
Office: 544F O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2253
Email: insko@oakland.edu

Andrea Knutson
Associate Professor
Office: 526 O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2258
Email: knutson@oakland.edu

Kathleen Pfeiffer
Professor
Office: 544B O'Dowd Hall
Phone: (248) 370-2251
Email: pfeiffer@oakland.edu

Honors College

Christopher Apap
Special Lecturer
Office: 169 Dodge Hall
Email: apap@oakland.edu

Susan Lynn Beckwith
Special Lecturer
Office: 521 O'Dowd Hall
Email: beckwit2@oakland.edu

Doris Plantus
Special Lecturer
Office: 521 O'Dowd Hall
Email: plantus@oakland.edu

Retired Faculty and Staff
  • Rosemary Aiello, Administrative Secretary
  • Gladys Cardiff, Professor Emeritus
  • Brian Connery, Professor Emeritus
  • Jane Eberwein, Distinguished Professor
  • Robert Eberwein, Distinguished Professor
  • Cynthia Ferrera, Administrative Secretary
  • June Ann Fisher, Administrative Secretary Emerita
  • Thomas Fitzsimmons
  • Martha Hammel, Special Instructor
  • Ed Haworth Hoeppner, Professor Emeritus
  • James F. Hoyle, Professor Emeritus
  • Nancy Joseph, Associate Professor
  • David W. Mascitelli, Associate Professor Emeritus
  • Donald E. Morse, Emeritus Professor
  • Brian F. Murphy, Professor
  • Joan G. Rosen, Associate Professor

In Memoriam

  • Maurice F. Brown II
  • Joseph DeMent
  • Nigel Hampton
  • Susan E. Hawkins
  • Linda McCloskey
  • Jim McClure
  • Gertrude White