Expand the section navigation mobile menu

Department of History

Fitzgerald House, Room 101
614 Pioneer Dr.
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-3510
fax: (248) 370-3528

Faculty and Staff

The History faculty's widespread research endeavors meet all levels of student interest. With areas of focus reaching across the world, the global impact of the department is unmatched. We encourage you to reach out to our faculty and staff for further departmental involvement or one-on-one conversations.

Faculty
Photo Not Available
Getnet Bekele
Associate Professor
Modern Africa, Environment and Development, Identity, Conflict Studies
122 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3517
bekele@oakland.edu
A headshot of Sara Chapman Williams.
Sara Chapman Williams
Associate Professor
Early Modern France and Europe, Early French Colonial History
110 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3526
chapman@oakland.edu
Dan Clark photo
Daniel Clark
Professor
American Labor History, 20th-Century U.S. Social History
103 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3532
djclark@oakland.edu
A headshot of Erin Dwyer.
Erin Dwyer
Associate Professor
19th-Century U.S., African-American History, Civil War and Reconstruction, Gender and Sexuality, Public History
104 Fitzgerald House 
(248) 370-3519
dwyer@oakland.edu
Photo of De Witt Dykes
De Witt S. Dykes Jr.
Associate Professor
African-American History, U.S. Urban History, Gender and Family History
107 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3522
dykes@oakland.edu
Photo of Todd Estes
Todd Estes
Professor 
American Revolution, Early National Period, Jacksonian America
123 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3534
estes@oakland.edu
headshot of Derek Hastings
Derek Hastings
Associate Professor
Modern Europe, Germany, Nationalism, Religion and Society
109 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3535
hastings@oakland.edu
Photo of Yan Li
Yan Li
Associate Professor
Modern China, Sino-Soviet Relations, East Asia
105 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3536
yli23458@oakland.edu
Photo of Don Matthews
Weldon C. Matthews
Associate Professor
Modern Middle East, Nationalism
102 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3525
matthews@oakland.edu
Photo of Karen Miller
Karen Miller
Associate Professor
U.S. Public Policy, Diplomatic and Economic History
124 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3512
kjmiller@oakland.edu
Photo of George Milne
George Milne
Associate Professor
Early American History, Native American History
106 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3530
milne@oakland.edu
headshot of Sean Farrell Moran
Seán Farrell Moran
Associate Professor
Modern Britain, Ireland, History of Ideas, 20th-Century Europe
121 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3533
moran@oakland.edu
Photo of James Naus
James Naus
Associate Professor and Chair
Medieval Europe
111 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3531
naus@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Jeffrey Powell
Visiting Assistant Professor
U.S. History, Early America, Modern Europe
120 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3521
powell2@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Cara Shelly
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Michigan History
Office: TBA
(248) 370-3516
shelly@oakland.edu
Photo of Liz Shesko
Elizabeth Shesko
Associate Professor
Latin American History, Race and Ethnicity
112 Fitzgerald House 
(248) 370-3529 
shesko@oakland.edu
professional headshot of Andrea Wenz
Andrea Wenz
Assistant Professor
Early Modern Italy and Europe, Renaissance, Reformation
108 Fitzgerald House
(248) 370-3527
andreawenz@oakland.edu
Professors Emeriti

Linda Benson
Professor Emerita

Carl Osthaus
Professor Emeritus

James D. Graham
Professor Emeritus

S. Bernard Thomas
Professor Emeritus 

Mary Karasch
Professor Emerita

Richard Tucker
Professor Emeritus 

Roy Kotynek
Professor Emeritus

Staff
Nick DiPucchio
Administrative Secretary
101 Fitzgerald House
Phone: (248) 370-3510
Fax: (248) 370-3528
dipucchio@oakland.edu


In Memoriam
Charles W. Akers
Professor Emeritus

Leonardas Gerulaitis
Professor Emeritus

V. John Barnard
Professor Emeritus

W. Patrick Strauss
Professor Emeritus  

Jace Crouch
Special Lecturer

Anne Tripp
Professor Emerita 

Ronald C. Finucane
Distinguished Professor