e-Learning and Instructional Support

Kresge Library, Room 430
100 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
Office: (248) 805-1625

e-LIS Virtual Help Desk:
Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. - noon
Help: (248) 805-1625

Submit an online help ticket 24 hours per day

aerial photo of Oakland University with bear lake in front and buildings in the background

About e-LIS

e-LIS offers software support, an online best practices course, instructional design help, online program development assistance and much more. We are your online learning experts! We also can help faculty and staff implement engaging online pedagogy using the professional media lab, the Lightboard, or our state of the art virtual reality lab.

e-LIS has the privilege of leading two committees composed of faculty, staff and students, the e-LIS Advisory Committee and the Online Programs Committee. These committees provide e-LIS with valuable input on new technologies, faculty needs, concerns, etc.

Sign up for our monthly newsletter for tech tips, important information and links to resources to support online learning at Oakland University. 

Mission and Values


The e-Learning and Instructional Support (e-LIS) department exists to expand learning opportunities beyond physical campus spaces in order to provide learners with high-quality, accessible, flexible, and active online learning experiences. We are dedicated to providing support and technology services to faculty, students, and staff that advance Oakland University’s academic, research, engagement, and inclusion goals.

Core Values

Service - Providing timely and quality support services, empathizing with those we serve regardless of their experience or prior knowledge, and responding to their needs.

Inclusivity - Incorporating multiple voices and experiences by valuing identities, perspectives, and backgrounds. Leveraging technology to increase accessibility and remove barriers.

Creativity and Innovation - Creatively solving problems, adapting to changing circumstances, and incorporating new tools and strategies.

Collaboration and Partnerships - Working together, sharing our talents, pitching in, and partnering with campus stakeholders and community members.

Growth - Committing to ongoing professional and personal development, supported by designated resources and opportunities made available for all.

Staff Directory
man in a black suit jacket and tie, smiling at the camera

Shaun Moore, Ph.D.
Director of e-Learning
430F Kresge Library
(248) 370-4414
man in a plaid shirt smiling at the camera

Dan Arnold, Ph.D.
Manager of Support Services
430N Kresge Library
(248) 370-3669 
man in a black Oakland University shirt smiling at the camera

Nic Bongers, Ph.D.
Instructional Designer
430I Kresge Library
(248) 370-3154
Chad Bousley staff photo.

Chad Bousley
Instructional Designer
430 Kresge Library

man in a gray Oakland University shirt smiling at the camera

John Coughlin
Senior Systems Analyst
430H Kresge Library
(248) 370-4618
A professional headshot of Nancy Demo.

Nancy Demo
Office Assistant III
430 Kresge Library
(248) 370-4520
Kate Huttenlocher Staff image

Kate Huttenlocher
Assistant Manager of Support Services
430 Kresge Library
(248) 370-3659
Danielle Nicholson staff photo.

Danielle Nicholson
Instructional Designer
430 Kresge Library

man in a gray Oakland University shirt and glasses smiling at the camera

Matthew G. Switlik
Learning Management Programmer
430L Kresge Library
(248) 370-3260

OPEN Position
Marketing & Compliance Coordinator
430 Kresge Library

woman in a red and black striped shirt smiling at the camera

Diane Underwood
Online Program and Marketing Manager
430K Kresge Library
(248) 370-4971

e-LIS Advisory Committee

The e-LIS Advisory Committee advises and supports the e-Learning and Instructional Support department on broad, institution-wide issues related to online learning including online programs, policy, technology, faculty development, academics, student enrollment, trends in online learning, finance, and strategic planning. Committee members also help distribute information back to academic units about topics of discussion.

View 2021-2022 meeting minutes

The committee is represented by students, as well as faculty from all of the schools and colleges in the university.

2022-2023 Members:

  • Shaun Moore - e-LIS - Chair
  • Dan Arnold - e-LIS
  • Chad Bousley - e-LIS
  • Nancy Demo - e-LIS
  • Kate Huttenlocher - e-LIS
  • Danielle Nicholson- e-LIS
  • Diane Underwood - e-LIS
  • Rachel Smydra - CAS - Language and Literature
  • Andrea Kozak - CAS - Humanities
  • Mary Craig - CAS - Math and Science
  • Lisa Welling - CAS - Social Science
  • Katie Greer - Kresge Library
  • Molly McGuire - Kresge Library
  • Hanna Kalmanovich-Cohen - SBA
  • Ron Tracy - SBA
  • Thandi Sule - SEHS
  • Dawn Woods - SEHS
  • Chris Kobus - SECS
  • Richard Olawoyin - SECS
  • Tara Diesbourg - SHS
  • Stephanie Mabry - SHS
  • Tanvirul Hye - OUWB
  • Noah Pollack - OUWB
  • Nicole Clark - SON
  • Lynda Poly-Droulard - SON
  • Amy Banes-Berceli - Provost's Office
  • Christina Moore - CETL
  • Ethan Lehman-Pace - Student Congress
  • Amir Mitchell - Student Congress
Online Programs Committee

The Online Programs Committee is composed of faculty and staff that run online programs in their schools or college. The committee discusses online program topics such as marketing, state authorization, stipends/incentives, instructional design services, and online program creation process. Committee members also help distribute information back to academic units about topics of discussion.


  • Shaun Moore - e-LIS (Chair)
  • Diane Underwood - e-LIS
  • Rebecca Thomas - e-LIS
  • Christine Abbott - SEHS
  • Amy Banes-Berceli - Provost's Office
  • Catherine Bennett - SMTD
  • Kelly Berishaj - SON
  • Ambika Bhargava - SEHS
  • Lori Boright - SHS
  • Cynthia Carver - SEHS
  • Jennifer Cepnick - SON
  • Tanya Christ - SEHS
  • Lori Crose - PACE
  • Shannon Flumerfelt - SEHS
  • Claudia Grobbel - SON
  • Darlene Groomes - SEHS
  • Darryl Hill - SHS
  • Sarah Jahimiak - BIS
  • Elizabeth Kattner - SMTD
  • Pamela Klena - SMTD
  • Kristen Munyan - SON
  • Amy Olind - PACE
  • Vijit Pandey - SECS
  • Traci Parsons - SEHS
  • Pat Piskulich - CAS
  • Laura Pittiglio - SON
  • Donna Rich - SEHS
  • Julie Ricks-Doneen - SEHS
  • Edward Rohn - SHS
  • Erica Ruegg - SEHS
  • Rajeev Singhal - SBA
  • Bill Solomonson - SEHS
  • Thandi Sule - SEHS
  • Kristine Thompson - SHS
  • Janell Townsend - SBA
  • Paul Trumbull - SBA
  • Caryn Wells - SEHS
  • Lindsay Zeig - BIS
Annual Report

2020-21 Year at a Glance 
Highlights e-Learning and Instructional Support activity and accomplishments from the complete July 2020-June 2021 Annual Report.