Expand the section navigation mobile menu

Department of Writing and Rhetoric

O'Dowd Hall, Room 378
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2746
fax: (248) 370-2748

A professor addressing their class

Faculty/Staff Directory

Oakland University faculty in Writing and Rhetoric are experts in the field of writing studies, and they are experienced teachers and established researchers. Many faculty serve as editors in the field for respected journals that include “College English,” “Composition Forum” and “The Journal of Undergraduate Multimedia Projects.” Others are accomplished writers of creative nonfiction, webtexts and other kinds of digital work published online. All are committed to providing Oakland University student writers with rich classroom experiences where they can develop and share their compositions with a classroom community of writers.

If you are interested in teaching in our department, please view Oakland University’s employment opportunities.

For general inquiries, contact the department at 248-370-2746.

Office Staff

headshot of Kerri Hubbard

Kerri Hubbard
Office Assistant
378 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2746
khubbard@oakland.edu

Chair

headshot of Crystal VanKooten

Crystal VanKooten
379 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-3791
vankooten@oakland.edu

Professors
Greg Giberson, seated at a desk in an office.

Greg Giberson
306 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-3038
giberso2@oakland.edu

A black and white headshot of Jim Nugent.

James Nugent
302 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-3792
nugent@oakland.edu

A black and white headshot of Lori Ostergaard.

Lori Ostergaard
304 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2075 
ostergaa@oakland.edu

Associate Professors
Photo Not Available

Elizabeth (Betsy) Allan
Director of the Professional and Digital Writing Major
381 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2750
allan@oakland.edu

A headshot of David Hammontree.

David Hammontree
Associate Director, First-Year Writing
135 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2745
hammontr@oakland.edu

Marshall Kitchens

Marshall Kitchens
Director of The Meadow Brook Writing Project
147A O'Dowd Hall 
(248) 370-4130 
kitchens@oakland.edu

A headshot of Megan Schoen.

Megan Schoen
Director of First-Year Writing
382 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4134
meganschoen@oakland.edu

headshot of Crystal VanKooten

Crystal VanKooten
300 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4982
vankooten@oakland.edu

Assistant Professor

headshot of Felicita Arzu Carmichael

Felicita Arzu-Carmichael
303 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2110
carmichael@oakland.edu

Special Instructors
Photo Not Available

Bernadette Dickerson
309 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4135
dickerso@oakland.edu

Kasia Kietlinska, seated with a book.

Kasia G. Kietlinska
303 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4137
kietlins@oakland.edu

Special Lecturers/Lecturers
A headshot of Glen Armstrong.

Glen Armstrong †
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
armstron@oakland.edu

Photo of Reema Barlaskar

Reema Barlaskar
140 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2736
barlaskar@oakland.edu

Ben Bennett-Carpenter

Benjamin Bennett-Carpenter
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
bennettc@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Allison Bohn
166 Dodge Hall
248)- 370-2739
ambohn@oakland.edu

Marilyn Borner

Marilyn Borner
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
borner@oakland.edu

Karen Brehmer

Karen Brehmer
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
brehmer@oakland.edu

Matt Burkett

Matt Burkett
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
burkett@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Jason Dodge
140 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2736
jasondodge@oakland.edu

Anne Colleen Doyle

(Anne) Colleen Doyle
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
doyle235@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Emily Freeman
136 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2103
freeman@oakland.edu

John Freeman

John Freeman
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
jfreema@gmail.com

A profile headshot of Christina Hall.

Christina Hall
166 Doge Hall
(248) 370-2739
chall@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Tara Hendin
136 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2103
hendin@oakland.edu

Lisa Hine

Lisa Hine †
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
hine@oakland.edu

Liz Jacoby

Liz Jacoby
136 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2736
ejacoby@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Jenna Katz
140 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2736
jennakatz@oakland.edu

Laura Klein in a red dress leaning on a white wall.

Laura Bochenek Klein
147 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4124
lkklein@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Amanda Laudig †
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
laudig@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

Kathleen S. Lawson †
136 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2103
kslawson@oakland.edu

Christina Moore

Christina Moore
Lecturer
200F Elliott Hall
(248) 370-2499
cmamoore@oakland.edu

Cindy Mooty

Cindy Mooty-Hoffmann
136 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2103
mootyhof@oakland.edu

A headshot of Jessica Rico.

Jessica Rico
140 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2736
jrico@oakland.edu

Lauren Rinke

Lauren E. Rinke †
147 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4124
rinke@oakland.edu

A headshot of Cathy Rorai.

Cathy Rorai
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2939
rorai@oakland.edu

Photo Not Available

William J. Rouster
140 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2736
rouster@oakland.edu

A headshot of Sheryl Ruzskiewicz.

Sheryl Ruszkiewicz
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
ruszkiew@oakland.edu

A headshot of Dr. Craig Smith.

Craig W. Smith
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
csmith@oakland.edu

Michaele Tomrell

Michaele Tomrell
136 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2103
mtomrell@oakland.edu

A headshot of Jason Torrente.

Jason Torrente
166 Dodge Hall
(248) 370-2739
torrente@oakland.edu

A headshot of Rebecca Vornberger.

Rebecca Vornberger †
147 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4124
rivard2@oakland.edu

Professional head shot of Sherry Wynn Perdue

Sherry L. Wynn Perdue
212 Kresge
(248) 370-3105
wynn@oakland.edu

† Meadow Brook Writing Project Teacher Consultant