Engineering Center, Room 301
115 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(map)
Dean's Office: (248) 370-2217
Academic Advising: (248) 370-2201
SECSDean@oakland.edu

Directory

DEAN'S
OFFICE
Louay M. Chamra, Ph.D.  Louay M. Chamra, Ph.D. 
Dean and Professor
Office: 301 EC 
(248) 370-2217 
Fax: (248) 370-4261 
chamra@oakland.edu
Beth Zou 
Qian (Beth) Zou, Ph.D.
Associate Dean and Professor
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2233
Fax: (248) 370-4261
qzou@oakland.edu
Website

 



Matt BruerMatt Bruer
Laboratory Manager
Office: 359 EC
(248) 370-2180
Fax: (248) 370-4633
mnbruer@oakland.edu

Jane DietrichJane Dietrich
Executive Secretary
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2217
Fax: (248) 370-4261
dietric2@oakland.edu
Marianne DonoghueMarianne Donoghue
Assistant Director of Outreach
Displaying UCM13127-4-2.jpgKelli Foskic
Kelli Foskic
Career Consultant
Office: 316 EC
(248) 370-2246
Fax: (248) 370-4261
Keith HarveyKeith Harvey
Budget Manager
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2229
Fax: (248) 370-4261
harvey@oakland.edu
Terrence HeinzTerrence P. Heinz    
Computer Technologist
Office: 153 DHE
(248) 370-2216
Fax: (248) 370-4416
heinz@oakland.edu
Barbara KlineBarbara Kline
Accounting Clerk IV
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-4014
Fax: (248) 370-4261
kline@oakland.edu
Christopher KobusChristopher J. Kobus, Ph.D. 
Director of Outreach and Recruitment, 
Associate Professor 
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2489
Fax: (248) 370-4416
cjkobus@oakland.edu
Website
Emily Prawdzik GenoffEmily Prawdzik Genoff
Communications Manager
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2217
Fax: (248) 370-4261
prawdzik@oakland.edu
Linda TuckfieldLinda Tuckfield
Administrative Secretary 
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2233
Fax: (248) 370-4261
Peter TaylorPeter Taylor
Project Engineer
Office: 179 EC
(248) 370-2226
Fax: (248) 370-4261
taylor26@oakland.edu
 
COMPUTER SCIENCE
& ENGINEERING
Lunjin Lu, Ph.D.


Lunjin Lu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Interim Chair
546 EC
(248) 370-2200
l2lu@oakland.edu
Website


Mehdi Bagherzadeh

Mehdi Bagherzadeh
Assistant Professor
Office: 542 EC
(248) 370-2208
mbagherzadeh@oakland.edu
Website

Xiaotong Lin, Ph.D.Paul Bonamy
Visiting Assistant Professor
pbonamy@oakland.edu
Debatosh Debnath, Ph.D.Debatosh Debnath, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 530 EC
(248) 370-2701
Fax: (248) 370-4625
debnath@oakland.edu
Laura DinsmoorLaura Dinsmoor
Special Instructor
Office: 518 EC
(248) 370-4591
Fax: (248) 370-4625
dinsmoor@oakland.edu
Xiaotong Lin, Ph.D.

Simon Ellis
Visitng Assistant Professor
ellis4@oakland.edu

Xiaotong Lin, Ph.D.Erik Fredericks, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
Office: 324 EC
(248) 370-4075 fredericks@oakland.edu
Website
 Huirong Fu, Ph.D

Huirong Fu, Ph.D
Professor
Office: 528 EC
(248) 370-4456
Fax: (248) 370-4625
fu@oakland.edu
Website

Xiaotong Lin, Ph.D.Shital Joshi
Visitng Assistant Professor
shitaljoshi@oakland.edu
Dae-Kyoo Kim, Ph.D.Dae-Kyoo Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 544 EC
(248) 370-2863
Fax: (248) 370-4625
kim2@oakland.edu
Website
Xiaotong Lin, Ph.D.Xiaotong Lin, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
336 EC
(248) 370-4894
xlin@oakland.edu
Website
Xiaotong Lin, Ph.D.

Anyi Liu
Assistant Professor
Office: 526 EC
(248) 370-2137
anyiliu@oakland.edu
Website

Hua MingKhalid Mahmood, PhD
Assistant Professor
Office: 532 EC
(248) 370-3542
mahmood@oakland.edu
Hua Ming
Hua Ming
Assistant Professor
Office: 516 EC
(248) 370-3769
Fax: (248) 370-4625
Nilesh Patel, Ph.D.Nilesh Patel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 524 EC
(248) 370-2247
Fax: (248) 370-4625
npatel@oakland.edu
Guangzhi Qu, Ph.D. Guangzhi Qu 
Ph.D.                                  

Associate Professor
Office: 538 EC
(248) 370-2690
Fax: (248) 370-4625
gqu@oakland.edu
Website
Ishwar K. Sethi, Ph.D.Ishwar K. Sethi, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 522 EC
(248) 370-2820
Fax: (248) 370-4625
isethi@oakland.edu
Mohammad-Reza Siadat, Ph.D.Mohammad-Reza Siadat, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 540 EC
(248) 370-2230
Fax: (348) 370-2171
siadat@oakland.edu
Gautam B. Singh, Ph.D.Gautam B. Singh, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 534 EC
(248) 370-2129 
Fax: (248) 370-4625
singh@oakland.edu
Website
Debbie VallaDebbie Valla
Administrative Assistant
Office: 546 EC
(248) 370-2200
Fax: (248) 370-4625 
valla@oakland.edu
 Yonghong Yan, Ph.D. Yonghong Yan, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor
Office: 534 EC
Phone: 248-370-4087
Fax: (248) 370-4625
yan@oakland.edu
Website
 
ELECTRICAL &
COMPUTER ENGINEERING
Daniel N. Aloi, Ph.D.Daniel N. Aloi, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Office: 446 EC
(248) 370-2185
Fax: (248) 370-4633
aloi@oakland.edu
Website



Hoda S. Abdel-Aty-Zohdy, Ph.D.

Hoda S. Abdel-Aty-Zohdy, Ph.D.
Director of the Microelectronics & Bio-Inspired Systems Design Lab Professor & Former  John F. Dodge Chair of Engineering
Office: 426 EC
(248) 370-2243
Fax: (248) 370-4633
zohdyhsa@oakland.edu

Shadi Alawneh
Assistant Professor
Office: EC 434
(248) 370-2242
Fax: (248) 370-4633
S. Ali Arefifar
Assistant Professor
Office: EC 432
(248) 370-2222
Fax: (248) 370-4633
Ka C. Cheok, Ph.D.Ka C. Cheok, Ph.D.
Professor, John F. Dodge Chair of Engineering
Office: 333 EC
(248) 370-2232 
Fax: (248) 370-4633
cheok@oakland.edu
Website
Manohar Das, Ph.D.Manohar Das, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 424 EC
(248) 370-2237 
Fax: (248) 370-4633
das@oakland.edu
Brian K. Dean, Ph.D.Brian K. Dean, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor
Office: 444 EC
(248) 370-2822
Fax: (248) 370-4633
bkdean@oakland.edu
Subramaniam Ganesan, Ph.D.Subramaniam Ganesan, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 440 EC
(248) 370-2206
Fax: (248) 370-4633
ganesan@oakland.edu
Website
Edward Y. Gu, Ph.D.Edward Y. Gu, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 334 EC
(248) 370-2219
Fax: (248) 370-4633
guy@oakland.edu
Darrin M. Hanna, Ph.D.

Darrin M. Hanna, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 436 EC
(248) 370-2170
Fax: (248) 370-4633
dmhanna@oakland.edu
Website

Photo Not Available

 

Bonnie Koch
Administrative Assistant
Office: 446 EC
(248) 370-2177
Fax: (248) 370-4633

 

Jia Li, Ph.D.Jia Li, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 422 EC 
(248) 370-2661
Fax: (248) 370-4633
li4@oakland.edu
Website
Daniel Llamocca, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 438 EC
(248) 370-4042
Fax: (248) 370-4633
llamocca@oakland.edu
Website
Khalid Mirza, Ph.D.
Special Instructor,
Director, Chrysler Robotics Laboratory
Office: 338 EC
(248) 370-4629
Fax: (248) 370-4633
mirza@oakland.edu
Hongwei Qu, Ph.D.Hongwei Qu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 430 EC 
(248) 370-2205
Fax: (248) 370-4633
qu2@oakland.edu
Website
Osamah A. Rawashdeh, Ph.D.Osamah A. Rawashdeh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 442 EC
(248) 370-2866
Fax: (248) 370-4633
rawashd2@oakland.edu
Website
Andrew Rusek, Ph.D.Andrew Rusek, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 428 EC
(248) 370-2181
Fax: (248) 370-4633
rusek@oakland.edu
Jing Tang, Ph.D.Jing Tang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 340 EC
(248) 370-2245
Fax: (248) 370-4633
jtang@oakland.edu
Website
Mohamed A. Zohdy, Ph.D.Mohamed A. Zohdy, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 342 EC
(248) 370-2234
Fax: (248) 370-4633
zohdyma@oakland.edu
Website
INDUSTRIAL &
SYSTEMS ENGINEERING
Robert P. Van Til, Ph.D.Robert P. Van Til, Ph.D.
Pawley Professor of Lean Studies and Chair
Office: 502 EC
(248) 370-2211
Fax: (248)-370-4625
vantil@oakland.edu
Website
 


Maureen CallaghanMaureen Callaghan
Administrative Assistant
Office: 502 EC
(248) 370-2989
Fax: (248)-370-4625
mpcallag@oakland.edu
Megan Conrad, Ph.D. Megan Conrad, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor
Office: 504 EC
(248) 370-4896
conrad@oakland.edu
William Edwards, M.S.William Edwards, M.S.
Visiting Instructor
Office: 512 EC
(248) 370-4946
wedwards@oakland.edu
Patrick Hillberg, Ph.D.Patrick Hillberg, Ph.D.
Adjunct Asst. Professor
Office: 512 EC
(248) 370-2989
pahillbe@oakland.edu
Barbara Oakley, Ph.D., P.E.Barbara Oakley, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor
Office: 510 EC
(248) 370-2435
Fax: (248) 370-4633
oakley@oakland.edu
Website
 
Vijitashwa Pandey, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 514 EC
(248) 370-4044 
pandey2@oakland.edu

Michael P. Polis, Ph.D.

Michael P. Polis, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 508 EC
(248) 370-2743
Fax: (248)-370-4625
polis@oakland.edu

 Sankar Sengupta, Ph.D.Sankar Sengupta, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 502 EC
(248) 370-2218
Fax: (248)-370-4625
sengupta@oakland.edu
MECHANICAL
ENGINEERING
Brian P. Sangeorzan, Ph.D.Brian P. Sangeorzan, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Office: 402 EC
(248) 370-2236
Fax: (248) 370-4416
bsangeor@oakland.edu



Gary Barber, Ph.D. Gary Barber, Ph.D. 
Professor
Office: 326 EC
(248) 370-2184
Fax: (248) 370-4416
barber@oakland.edu
 Brenda Bond Brenda Bond
Administrative Assistant
Office: 402 EC
(248) 370-2210
Fax: (248) 370-4416
bond2@oakland.edu
Yin-ping (Daniel) Chang, Ph.D.Yin-ping (Daniel) Chang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 418 EC
(248) 370-2209
Fax: (248) 370-4416
ychang@oakland.edu
Website
Photo Not AvailableDan DelVescovo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 324 EC
(248) 370-4590
Fax: (248) 370-4416
delvescovo@oakland.edu

Sergey F. Golovashchenko, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 318 EC
(248) 370-4051
Fax: (248) 370-4416
golovash@oakland.edu

Randy J. Gu, Ph.D.

Randy J. Gu, Ph.D.
Professor 
Office: 412 EC
(248) 370-2235
Fax: (248) 370-4416
gu@oakland.edu
Website

Laila Guessous, Ph.D.Laila Guessous, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 404 EC
(248) 370-2183
Fax: (248) 370-4416
Guessous@oakland.edu
Website
Ching L. Ko, Ph.D.Ching L. Ko, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 420 EC
(248) 370-2694
Fax: (248) 370-4261
ko@oakland.edu
Christopher J. Kobus, Ph.D.Christopher J. Kobus, Ph.D.
Director of Outreach and Recruitment, 
Associate Professor 
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2489
Fax: (248) 370-4416
cjkobus@oakland.edu
Website
Michael A. Latcha, Ph.D.Michael A. Latcha, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 416 EC
(248) 370-2203
Fax: (248) 370-4261
latcha@oakland.edu
Website
Photo Not AvailableJim Leidel, M.S.
Special Instructor
Office: 344 EC
Fax: (248) 370-4261
leidel@oakland.edu
Keyu Li, Ph.D.Keyu Li, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 414 EC
(248) 370-2862 
Fax: (248) 370-4261
kli@oakland.edu
Photo Not AvailableJonathan Maisonneuve, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 408 EC
(248) 370-2657
Fax: (248) 370-4416
maisonneuve@oakland.edu
 Zissimos P. Mourelatos, Ph.D.Zissimos P. Mourelatos, Ph.D.
Professor, John F. Dodge Chair of Engineering
Office: 402D EC
(248) 370-2686
Fax: (248) 370-4416
mourelat@oakland.edu
Sayed A. Nassar, Ph.D.Sayed A. Nassar, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor, 
Director of FAJRI
Office: 348 EC
(248) 370-3781
Fax: (248) 370-4416
nassar@oakland.edu
Website

J. David Schall, Ph.D.J. David Schall, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 328 EC
(248) 370-2870
Fax: (248) 370-4416
schall2@oakland.edu
Website
Xia Wang, Ph.D.Xia Wang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 402 EC
(248) 370-2224
Fax: (248) 370-4416
wang@oakland.edu
Website
 nophoto-115.jpg 
Zhijun (Jason) Wu, Ph.D. 
Special Instructor
Office: 346 EC
(248)370-3782
(248)370-4416
wu@oakland.edu
LianXiang Yang, Ph.D.LianXiang Yang, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 410 EC
(248) 370-2283
Fax: (248) 370-4416
yang2@oakland.edu
Website
nophoto-115.jpgPeng Zhao
Assistant Professor
Office: 330 EC
(248) 370-2214
pengzhao@oakland.edu
ACADEMIC
ADVISING

Located at 255 EC, the team at the School of Engineering and Computer Science Advising Office is here to help you. Call (248) 370-2201 to set up an appointment.

Carmen EtienneCarmen Etienne
Director, SECS Advising
(248) 370-2201
etienne@oakland.edu
Marlene McKean

Marlene McKean
Advising Secretary
(248) 370-2201 
mckeanma@oakland.edu

Eman Shammo
Academic Adviser
(248) 370-2201
eshammo@oakland.edu
Sarah Shelden
Senior Academic Adviser
(248) 370-2201
shelden@oakland.edu
WheelerDebra Wheeler
Academic Adviser
(248) 370-2201
djwheeler@oakland.edu